Wisdom for Daily Living #28: Confession or Cover-Up?

PROVERBS DAY #28: COVER-UP OR CONFESSION?

“People who cover over their sins will not prosper. But if they confess and forsake them, they will receive mercy. Blessed are those who have a tender conscience, but the stubborn are headed for serious trouble.” (Prov. 28:13-14).

Proverbs 28

It’s been said that there are two sure things in life: death and taxes. But there is a third thing that is equally true: sin! To sin is to miss the mark, to disobey God and His commandments. Everyone sins. The question is not whether we will sin or not, but rather what we will do when we sin. Here we have two options: To either cover our sins, or confess and forsake them.

As usual, Solomon doesn’t simply say to us: “Don’t cover your sins!” Rather, he tells us the consequences of covering our sins, and then leaves the decision up to us. If you cover over your sins and hide them, you will not prosper. If you stubbornly refuse to confess your sins to God, you are headed for serious trouble! Solomon’s father, King David, knew well the consequences of covering his sins. “When I refused to confess my sin, I was weak and miserable, and I groaned all day long. Day and night your hand of discipline was heavy on me. My strength evaporated like water in the summer heat.” (Psalm 32:3-4).

In contrast to the person who covers up their sins is the person who confesses and forsakes their sins. When we confess our sins, we receive God’s mercy. “Oh, what joy for those whose rebellion is forgiven, whose sin is put out of sight! Yes, what joy for those whose record the LORD has cleared of sin, whose lives are lived in complete honesty!” (Psalm 32:1-2).

Everyone sins. “If we say we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and refusing to accept the truth.” (1 John 1:8). When you sin, you have the choice to either cover your sin (but why bother – you can’t hide it from God anyway!) or confess your sin. “But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us and to cleanse us from every wrong.” (1 John 1:9).

Do you have a sin that you want to confess to Jesus today? If so, I encourage you to take the words to this wonderful prayer of confession, written by King David, and confess your sins to the Lord, who is gracious to forgive.

“Have mercy on me, O God, because of your unfailing love. Because of your great compassion, blot out the stain of my sins. Wash me clean from my guilt. Purify me from my sin… Against you, and you alone, have I sinned; I have done what is evil in your sight… Purify me from my sins, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow… Create in me a clean heart, O God. Renew a right spirit within me… Restore to me again the joy of your salvation, and make me willing to obey you.” (Psalm 51:1-12).

TODAY’S READING: PROVERBS CHAPTER TWENTY-EIGHT.

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

