Wisdom for Daily Living #12: Choose Your Friends Wisely

PROVERBS DAY #12: CHOOSE YOUR FRIENDS WISELY

“The righteous should choose his friends carefully, For the way of the wicked leads them astray.” (Prov. 12:26).

One of the things I love about the wisdom in Proverbs is that it is very practical, and applies to the important areas of our lives that we care about. First and foremost, life is all about relationships. The book of Proverbs gives us wisdom for having good and healthy friendships.

The above Proverb tells us that we should choose our friends very wisely. If we choose righteous and godly friends, they will help motivate us to seek after and pursue a relationship with God. But if we choose wicked and ungodly friends, they will ultimately lead us astray. It is a true principle that we become like those we hang around with! Another Proverb says, “Whoever walks with the wise will become wise; whoever walks with fools will suffer harm.” (Prov. 13:20).

I first started attending church in the fall of 1990. This church, Solid Rock Ministries, had a great youth group, and a number of us became really good friends. Some of my closest friends were Steven, Wade, Tricia and Shauna. As a new Christian, they were such a positive influence on my life, and helped me to get excited about serving the Lord. We would go to church together, but we also spent a lot of time together doing other things as well. I remember one time the five of us hopped into Steven’s Isuzu Impulse (a cool red sports car) and drove from Regina to Edmonton for a Michael W. Smith and DC Talk concert. The day after the concert, we met Michael S. Smith at the West Edmonton mall. We always had so much fun together.

I thank God for those friends, because of the positive influence they had on my spiritual life. They encouraged me to attend church, to seek God, and to live for the Lord. They were a great support to me as new Christian when I was learning what it meant to follow Jesus. I remember one time going to my pastor, Erwin Dyck, with a question about speaking in tongues. I had received the baptism of the Holy Spirit, but had never spoken in tongues, and I didn’t know why. So my pastor took me to the Bible and showed me the Scripture in Acts 2:4 which said, “And they began to speak with other tongues as the Spirit gave them the utterance.” I realized that I had to open my mouth before the Lord would fill it. That night, my friend Steven drove me from the church in Regina to my home in the small town of Rouleau, Saskatchewan, about a half hour drive. The whole way home, Steven and I were speaking in tongues together, and I found such an incredible release of this gift of the Holy Spirit in my life.

Friends are so important, so choose your friends wisely!

TODAY’S READING: PROVERBS CHAPTER TWELVE.

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

