Jeremiah Devotions #12: “I’m Not Listening!”

 

Jeremiah Devotions #12: “I’m Not Listening!”

Bible Reading for Today: Jeremiah Chapters 41-44.

not listening

SCRIPTURE:

“As for the word that you have spoken to us in the name of the Lord, we will not listen to you!” (Jeremiah 44:16).

OBSERVATION:

In Jeremiah chapter 44, Jeremiah explained to the people why God was punishing them – because they continued to refuse to listen to His prophets and turn away from their sins. As Jeremiah rebuked the people, a group of men came to Jeremiah and said, “We will not listen to your message from God! We’re going to do whatever we want to do!” It reminds me of a little child sticking his fingers in his ears when someone tries to tell him what to do, and he says, “I’m not listening!” What impudence! What rebellion! It’s like a parent telling a child, “Don’t touch the hot stove” and a child does it anyway, and then complains when they burn their hands.

APPLICATION:

Christianity is pretty simple folks. Jesus said He came into the world to give us an abundant, blessed life. However, He also said that there is a devil who comes to steal, kill and destroy in our lives as well. When we choose to walk in obedience to the Lord, we experience His blessings – His joy, peace, hope and provision. But when we disobey His commandments, we shouldn’t be surprised when life doesn’t work for us. It’s like the new car owner who decides he doesn’t need to read the owner’s manual and neglects the regularly scheduled maintenance. Sooner or later, he’s headed for trouble.

PRAYER:

Gracious Heavenly Father! I can’t tell you how much I love and value the Bible. It has given me such hope, inspiration and encouragement to know how much you love me, and has helped me to discover more about the wonderful plan you have for my life. But more than that, it has given me wisdom to know how to live a life that you bless. Help me to walk in obedience to your ways, knowing that your commandments are for my good. In Jesus’ name, amen!

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

