Jeremiah Devotions #6: The Green Fruitful Tree

 

Jeremiah Devotions #6: The Green Fruitful Tree

Bible Reading for Today: Jeremiah Chapters 17-20.

SCRIPTURE:

tree by water“Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, And whose hope is the Lord. For he shall be like a tree planted by the waters, Which spreads out its roots by the river, And will not fear when heat comes; But its leaf will be green, And will not be anxious in the year of drought, Nor will cease from yielding fruit.” (Jeremiah 17:7-8).

OBSERVATION:

In this passage of Scripture, Jeremiah describes for us the blessing that comes to those who put their trust and hope in the Lord. He says that they will be like a tree that is planted by the waters. We are the tree, and the Lord Himself is the pictured rivers of living water. When we trust in the Lord, we don’t have to be afraid of the heat of hard times. We don’t have to be worried or anxious about times of economic difficulties. Instead, we will have green leaves and continually bear fruit. What a blessing this is!

APPLICATION:

I am a tree. And as a tree, I don’t want to live in a desert of barrenness. Rather, I want to be a vibrant, green, fruitful tree. The only way I can do that is by abiding in Jesus. He is the vine, and I am one of the branches. As we abide in Jesus, trust and obey Him, we will grow strong and bear much fruit.

PRAYER:

Lord Jesus, I want to be a green, fruitful tree. I know this only happens as I trust You. Help me to be disciplined to get into your Word daily, because I know that as I do this, you will bless me. And help me to lead others to the rivers of living water that are only found in your joyful, peace-filled presence. In Jesus’ beautiful name, amen!

 

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

