Man of Steel and Son of God #7: Jesus is the World’s Greatest Superhero

Jesus: The World’s Greatest Superhero:

crown

Not only is the life of Jesus an example for us to follow, as someone who was kind, generous, loving and accepting, helping people, healing people, making a difference in people’s lives, befriending the friendless and loving the lovely. As good as those things are, the story of Christianity is greater than that. It’s not just about having Jesus as your role model; but it’s also about having Jesus as your Saviour. Not only did Jesus live for us, He also died for us. All throughout His life, Jesus looked forward to the day when He would give His life as a sacrifice for our sins.

Jesus said: “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the ground and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it produces much grain. He who loves his life will lose it, and he who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life.” (John 12:24-25). In other words, Jesus is the grain of wheat that fell into the ground and died, and through His death, He has produced much grain – many lives saved for eternity because of His sacrifice.

You see, the Bible says that all of us have sinned, and fallen short of the glory of God. We haven’t done what God has expected of us. And because of our sins, we are separated from a holy God. The penalty for our sins is death – eternal separation from God. This is why Jesus came into the world, live a perfect life, and died on the Cross as our substitute, so our sins could be forgiven and be able to go to Heaven. Anyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.

Jesus also said, “The Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many.” (Matt. 20:28). Jesus is God, and as God, He can do whatever He wants. He could have been a miserable god who abused human beings as his little playthings. In fact, if you look at all of the gods that were created by human imagination – in Greek mythology and Roman mythology – that’s exactly what they did. They were mean and vindictive gods who tortured people. Aren’t you glad that the one true living God isn’t like that? Instead, Jesus came to serve, love, bless, heal, save, and care for mankind.

Everywhere Jesus went, He looked for opportunities to bless people. His favourite question was, “What do you want me to do for you?” In other words, “How can I help you? You’re blind? Let me heal that blindness so you can see. You’re deaf? Let me open those ears so you can hear. You’re lame? Rise up and walk! You’re a sinner? Let me forgive your sins.”

Then after serving people, He went to the Cross to give His life as a ransom for many. Jesus had to make a costly choice before the Cross. He knew the horrors that awaited Him when He went to Calvary. He knew that He would be brutally beaten, a crown of thorns would be placed upon His head, his beard would be plucked out, he would be showered with spit, and lashed with a whip, beaten with sticks, mocked, ridiculed, stripped, and then finally nailed to the Cross.

Knowing what awaited Him, Jesus called His disciples together to pray with Him in the Garden of Gethsemane. The olive press. He was about to be pressed. “He went a little farther and fell on His face, and prayed, saying, “O My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.” (Matt. 26:39). Even though Jesus knew the price for man’s salvation was His death, and that while He hung upon the Cross, the wrath of God for man’s sin would be poured upon Him, He made the costly choice to die… for you, and for me.

That’s why, even though I like Superman, I love Jesus. The reason why I love Jesus is because at the age of eighteen, I realized that I was a sinner who had broken God’s laws, and I deserved to be punished for my sins. But I heard a story that there was a God who loved me so much that He sent His son Jesus to die for me so that I could live, and on that day, I gave my life to Jesus.

Jesus died for me – how can I not live for Him? I don’t understand how someone who’s heard what Jesus has done for them could just go to church and not give Jesus their life. Someone said once, “If something’s not worth dying for, it’s not worth living for.” I believe the Gospel – the Good News about Jesus the Saviour – is worth dying for. Jesus truly is the world’s greatest superhero.

Concluded tomorrow…

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Man of Steel and Son of God #7: Jesus is the World’s Greatest Superhero

  1. Pingback: Superman (Man of Steel) Daily Devotional Series | New Life

Leave a Reply

