Back to Square One #1: Why are we Still Here?

Back to Square One: Rediscovering the Mission of Jesus the Saviour

Back to Square One

Why are we still here?

Why is it that after we became Christians, having received Jesus as our Lord and Saviour, that God didn’t take us to Heaven right away? Heaven is described in the Bible a paradise, a place of perfect peace, where “God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.” (Rev. 21:4). Heaven is a place where there is no more suffering. If that’s true (and I believe it is), then why didn’t God instantly teleport us to Heaven at the moment we believed in Jesus, and take us off of this sin-cursed Earth?

The answer is simple. If God took all of us to Heaven as soon as we became Christians, there would be no one left behind to tell other people the Good News about the way of salvation through Jesus! There’s only one thing that we can take to Heaven with us when we die – other people: People that we lead to a saving relationship with Jesus Christ. My prayer is that the Lord would grip your heart – as He has mine – with a sense of the urgency of the hour. Psalm 39:4 says, “LORD, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered, and that my life is fleeing away.” If we could begin to see things from the vantage point of eternity, we would begin to live differently.

I have a feeling that when most of us get to Heaven, the words, “If I only…” will be on our lips. “If only I had told one more person about Jesus. If only I had invested more of my time, resources and life in service of the Kingdom of God. If only…” I remember one of the most impacting scenes I’ve ever seen in a movie in Schindler’s List. This movie tells the true story about German businessman Oskar Schindler, who was instrumental in saving the lives of over one thousand Jews during the Holocaust. The final scene in the movie is powerful. It is a conversation between Schindler and his accountant Itzhak Stern, as hundreds of the Jews that Schindler had saved stand around.

Schindler: I could have got more out. I could have got more. If I’d just … I could have got more.
Stern: Oskar, there are eleven hundred people who are alive because of you. Look at them.
Schindler: If I’d made more money … I threw away so much money. You have no idea.
Stern: There will be generations because of what you did.
Schindler: I didn’t do enough!
Stern: You did so much.
Schindler: [Schindler looks at his car] This car. Goeth would have bought this car. Why did I keep the car? Ten people right there. Ten people. Ten more people.
Schindler: [removes a pin from lapel] This pin. Two people. This is gold. Two more people. He would have given me two for it, at least one. One more person. A person, Stern. For this. I could have gotten one more person … and I didn’t! And I … I didn’t!
 

Here’s the clip from Youtube:

I don’t know about you, but when I get to Heaven, I don’t want to look back on my life as having wasted it. I want to hear the Lord speak those words to me, “Well done my good and faithful servant, enter into the joy of your Lord.”

Continued tomorrow…

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to Square One #1: Why are we Still Here?

  1. Pingback: New Booklet: “Back to Square One: Rediscovering the Mission of Jesus” | New Life

Leave a Reply

