iPray #4 – Stirring Up Our Faith for #Miracles

If you haven’t done so yet, I encourage you to read the story of Honi the circle maker from a couple of days ago…

Honi the Circle Maker

I get inspired by a man with faith like that. He said, “I believe God is who the Bible says He is.” He prayed this bold prayer and said, “Lord of the Universe, I swear before your great name that I will not move from this circle until you have shown mercy upon your children.” First of all, that shows faith. Can you imagine if he didn’t really believe God answered prayer to make that stand and say, “I’m not leaving this circle until you do something God.” That would be pretty foolish.

The Circle MakerBut Honi knew his God. He knew that God was still alive and well, and that God still answered prayers. He had faith and perseverance. He said, “I’m going to pray until something happens.” We don’t know how to pray like that anymore. If you need more faith and encouragement to challenge you in your prayer life, I encourage you to read the book The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson. Many times as I read this book I was challenged to pause and put down the book and pray.

We need our faith to be stirred up to believe God and draw circles by faith and say, “God, I’m believing for you to get a hold of my children – that they will know you, love you, and serve you, and I’m not going to stop praying for that until it happens.” The whole book is about dreaming big, praying hard, and thinking long. Dream big – what do you want to see God do in your life? Pray hard – pray until something happens. And then think long – every prayer that we pray doesn’t just affect us, but our children and our children’s children and generations to come.

As we’re building the church, we’re not just building for this generation. One day – should Jesus tarry – we’re all going to be in Heaven with God, but we’re building for the next generation, so that our church will continue to be a lighthouse in our community for those yet to be born. We need to learn how to pray powerful prayers.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

