Post #400 – God Doesn’t Answer Prayer…

God Doesn’t Answer Prayer… :

hannah prays

Now, before you call me a heretic, let me tell you a story, and then I’ll finish my sentence, okay?

“So Hannah arose after they had finished eating and drinking in Shiloh. Now Eli the priest was sitting on the seat by the doorpost of the tabernacle of the Lord. And she was in bitterness of soul, and prayed to the Lord and wept in anguish. Then she made a vow and said, “O Lord of hosts, if You will indeed look on the affliction of Your maidservant and remember me, and not forget Your maidservant, but will give Your maidservant a male child, then I will give him to the Lord all the days of his life, and no razor shall come upon his head.” And it happened, as she continued praying before the Lord, that Eli watched her mouth. Now Hannah spoke in her heart; only her lips moved, but her voice was not heard. Therefore Eli thought she was drunk. So Eli said to her, “How long will you be drunk? Put your wine away from you!” And Hannah answered and said, “No, my lord, I am a woman of sorrowful spirit. I have drunk neither wine nor intoxicating drink, but have poured out my soul before the Lord. Do not consider your maidservant a wicked woman, for out of the abundance of my complaint and grief I have spoken until now.” Then Eli answered and said, “Go in peace, and the God of Israel grant your petition which you have asked of Him.” And she said, “Let your maidservant find favor in your sight.” (1 Samuel 1:9-18).

I said God doesn’t answer prayer… He answers DESPERATE prayer! It’s true. Look at the example of this woman named Hannah. Hannah was barren, and because she had no children, she was overwhelmed and frustrated, and prayed to the Lord in anguish. In her desperation, she poured out her soul before the Lord, out of the abundance of her complaint and grief she spoke. And guess what? God answered her prayer! First Samuel 1:19-20 tells us, “Then they rose early in the morning and worshiped before the Lord, and returned and came to their house at Ramah. And Elkanah knew Hannah his wife, and the Lord remembered her. So it came to pass in the process of time that Hannah conceived and bore a son, and called his name Samuel, saying, “Because I have asked for him from the Lord.”

God answers desperate prayer! Consider this parable that Jesus taught His disciples. “And He said to them, “Which of you shall have a friend, and go to him at midnight and say to him, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves; for a friend of mine has come to me on his journey, and I have nothing to set before him’; and he will answer from within and say, ‘Do not trouble me; the door is now shut, and my children are with me in bed; I cannot rise and give to you’? I say to you, though he will not rise and give to him because he is his friend, yet because of his persistence he will rise and give him as many as he needs. “So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.” (Luke 11:5-9). The key to answered prayer here was persistence. Desperation. Jesus said, “Keep on asking, and you will receive. Keep on seeking, and you will find, keep on knocking, and the door will be opened unto you.”

So often, we throw our prayers up to heaven with little faith, expectancy or perseverance, and we don’t really believe that we’ll receive what we expect from the Lord. We’re not willing to stand in faith until we receive the promises of God in our lives! In another portion of Scripture, Jesus spoke another parable to His disciples, teaching them that “men always ought to pray and not lose heart.” (Luke 18:1). In this story, Jesus said, “And shall God not avenge His own elect who cry out day and night to Him, though He bears long with them? I tell you that He will avenge them speedily!” (v.7-8). My friend, God doesn’t answer prayer…but He answers desperate prayer. Pray. Believe. Seek. Knock. Persevere. Don’t give up. P.U.S.H. – Pray Until Something Happens. Get desperate!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post #400 – God Doesn’t Answer Prayer…

  1. tmonju says:

    I love your post and the thoughts that lead it, but I do slightly disagree. I have experienced God answering simple nothing prayers just to prove that He’s listening. For example: a few years ago I was really craving chocolate and briefly mentioned it in my thoughts to the Lord. About 20 minutes later my husband called and said that someone at work was giving out free candy bars and which would I like him to bring home… How crazy is that?! So, although I do agree with the basis of your post, there is more to prayer and answers to prayer than seeking fervently. And PS- the amount of faith and emotion put into a prayer does not guarantee a ‘yes’ answer. God’s will is God’s will and our prayers will be answered accordingly.

Leave a Reply

