One of the Greatest Blessings of All

One of The Greatest Blessings of All:

3classic austin

Austin – age 3

“We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the Lord, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done…That the generation to come might know them… That they may arise and declare them to their children, That they may set their hope in God, And not forget the works of God, But keep His commandments.” (Psalm 78:4-7).

One of the greatest joys and blessings of my life was when I became a Christian. To be saved from my sins, forgiven, accepted by God, and adopted into His family—what joy can compare with that? It is such an awesome privilege to be able to be used by God in the ministry—to lead people to Christ, to pray for them to be saved, delivered, healed, and filled with God’s Spirit—all of these bring incredible joy to my heart. This is my passion! Knowing my God, and serving Him with all of my heart. However, there is an even greater blessing in my life than all of these things, that I want to share with you today.

Over ten years ago, I had the exciting opportunity to pray with my first-born son Caleb to receive Jesus as His Saviour. It was one of the most joyful experiences of my life! About a year after that experience, he led his sister Victoria to the Lord in the backseat of our van. After our youth retreat in 2003, Caleb really began pressing in and going deeper in His relationship with God, pouring out His heart before God in worship both at home and at church. I remember the burden that he, Liza and I had on our hearts to see my youngest son Austin give his life to Jesus back then, too. We had been sharing the Gospel with him, and telling him what he needs to do to be saved, but he had continued to stubbornly refuse and say, “Not today. Maybe when I’m five. I’m not ready yet.” However, one night at the dinner table, back in the fall of 2003, we asked Austin, “Are you ready to give your life to Jesus today?” and he finally responded by saying, “Yes!” Praise the Lord! After sharing with him the seriousness of such a commitment, and talking with him about what it means to have Jesus as the Lord (boss) of your life, I led him in a prayer to confess his sins to the Lord, call on His name, and be saved. HALLELUJAH! There was such a joy in my heart!

When we finished praying we all hugged Austin, and Liza said, “You know what, Austin? God’s throwing a party up in Heaven right now with all of His angels.” I said to him, “God has adopted you into His family now, Austin!” And Caleb added, “And now your name’s written in God’s Book of life in Heaven!” We got up from the table and I said, “It’s time to celebrate!” We put on one of our kids worship videos and started singing and dancing around the living room, and I stood in awe as I saw Austin—for the first time—actually sing along with the words of the song. We had watched these worship videos together as a family before, and although sometimes Austin has jumped or danced around, I have never seen him actually sing the songs before. Austin was singing, “Open the eyes of my heart Lord, I want to see you.”

As we were dancing around the living room, I said to Austin, “You need to be filled with the Holy Spirit.” And so I prayed with him that the Lord would fill him with the Holy Spirit and give him power to be a witness for Him, and prayed for Tori and Caleb that the Lord would fill them anew and afresh with His Spirit.

I want to challenge you to press into the Lord today, and seek God with all of your heart. Maybe you have loved ones who don’t know Jesus as their Saviour yet. Pray for their salvation and share the Gospel with them. God is real. He’s a God you can experience. You can hear His voice, you can feel His presence. He loves you and has an awesome plan for your life. Don’t be content to be religious, but seek to know Him more. There’s no more fulfilling life in this world than walking with Jesus!

(Note – since this was written, my wife Liza and I had another child, Hannah, and I’m happy to report that she too has given her heart to Jesus Christ – praise the Lord!).

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One of the Greatest Blessings of All

  1. Freedomborn says:

    So wonderful to hear of your faithfulness Pastor Chris to bring up your Children to know The Lord both by example and instruction and He promises when we do this they will not depart from it even if they stray as some do, I was a lost sheep and He rescued me. I never had a Dad to instruct me, he died before I was 8 only a few weeks after becoming a Christian, as he was dying he drew me to his side and said for me to be a Sunbeam for Jesus and keep shining and they were his last words to me and on earth.

    But my Abba Father, my Heavenly much Loved Daddy, has lead me to understand His heart of Love for me and for us all. I asked for His help to do so and as I shared with Betty another Blogging friend, He gave me 3 Scriptures and then later many more.

    One of them led me to ask for His help to overcome my doubts, Mark 9:24 another to ask for His wisdom James1:5-8 and another reassured me that I could know His heart and will through the empowering of The Holy Spirit.1Corinthhins2 (9-16)

    Jesus tells us to ask so we can receive, God never goes against our free will He does not want puppets.

    Thank you again for sharing Pastor Chris – Christian Love Always from both of us – Anne

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Anne,
      Thanks for sharing a little bit of your story… for me, my parents were divorced before I was five years old, so I grew up not knowing my earthly father. However, when I became a Christian at the age of 18, I met a wonderful loving Heavenly Father who is GOOD, compassionate, loving, forgiving, and became ‘Abba’ to me, too… Blessings to you today!

Leave a Reply

