When God Came Down – A Testimony from 2003

When God Came Down—A Testimony from 2003:

Holy Spirit fire

“Lord, I have heard of your fame and I stand in awe of your deeds, O Lord. Renew them in our day, in our time, make them known.” (Habakkuk 3:2).

Praise the Lord! I will never forget the time we saw God step down in our midst in a powerful way at one of our youth worship nights at Bible Fellowship Church. This is what we had been praying for, seeking God for, and anticipating. During worship, God’s presence came so powerful in our midst, just as the Bible said it would, “But you art holy, O you who inhabit the praises of Israel.” (Psalm 22:3). In the midst of the praises of God, I felt like the Lord was giving me a prophetic word to call out, and spoke out what I felt like the Lord was showing me. “I believe the Lord has shown me that there are three young men here tonight who the Lord is calling to the prophetic ministry, to prophesy and proclaim God’s Word to your generation. If that’s you, come forward so we can pray for you.” Geoff (one of our youth leaders), Mark (our worship leader), and David, one of our youth, responded to that word, and we prayed for a release of the prophetic anointing on their lives.

After that, I felt like the Lord told me to say, “There are some young girls here who the Lord wants to release a healing anointing upon, to be able to lay hands on the sick, and see them recover.” About ten teen girls responded to that word and came forward to be prayed for, for an impartation of the healing anointing. It was an unbelievably powerful time in God’s presence. Many people began weeping during this time as they sat in God’s presence, and God sovereignly began drawing them unto Himself. I saw God moving upon one of our students and I asked Him what God was doing in him, and he said he didn’t know. I felt led to ask him if he knew Jesus personally. I said, “Do you believe that if you were to die tonight and enter into eternity, that you would go to Heaven? Have you made your peace with God?” When he said no, I had an opportunity to pray with him right there and lead him to Christ. Praise the Lord. He was weeping as I hugged him after I prayed with him, and I knew that God had transformed him. As he confessed his sins to God, and called upon the name of the Lord, trusting Jesus to be His Saviour, God adopted him into His family. It was awesome!

I felt led after this to give an altar call for salvation, sensing that God was doing a work in students’ hearts, drawing them unto Himself, and about seven or eight youth responded to the call to get saved and give their lives to Jesus. I was overcome with such joy at what God was doing in our midst that I began weeping as I prayed for these students, and led them to Christ. God was moving so powerfully by His Spirit in our midst. We prayed with about 3 students to be filled with the Holy Spirit and about a dozen students to be filled with a supernatural impartation of joy. Psalm 16:11 says, “In God’s presence is fulness of joy; at His right hand there are pleasures for evermore.” I said to these students, “Lift your hands and begin to praise and worship the Lord, and as God’s presence comes upon you, He will fill you with His joy, and restore unto you the joy of His salvation!” Mark began playing a song, “Trading my Sorrows” and there was a spontaneous spirit of celebration that hit the room, as not only those twelve students being prayed for were filled with God’s joy, but as the whole room full of over sixty students began dancing and celebrating what God was doing in our midst! A couple of the young men that I prayed for began giving prophetic words to the other students, and the girls we prayed for an impartation of the healing anointing, prayed for a few of the students in the room who were sick to be healed. God is so real and so powerful. I want to keep going deeper. More, Lord!

“Lord, I have heard of your fame and I stand in awe of your deeds, O Lord. Renew them in our day, in our time, make them known.” Lord, that truly is the cry of my heart. I do stand in awe of what YOU are doing in our midst. Lord, renew your deeds in OUR day, in OUR time, make them known! May your people rejoice in thee, and glorify your name. And Lord, would you stir up the hearts of those reading this testimony to seek after you with all of their hearts. Give them the same hunger for more of you, that same cry to go deeper into your presence. Amen.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When God Came Down – A Testimony from 2003

  1. Freedomborn says:

    Thank you Pastor Chris for sharing your powerful witness of God’s presence and even if just one person repented how great is the rejoicing in Heaven.

    I’m not Pentecostal or Charismatic or any other of man’s chosen Titles for their Denominations I belong to the real Church of Christ I’m part of His Body which is world wide and in the hearts of all His Redeemed Children but I fellowship and have fellowshipped or been in contact with quiet a few differant Churches over the years in my Ministries, what I look for is the Fruit of Love and a willingness to aim to be perfected in Love having put their flesh to death by The Spirit. Galations5 and other Scriptures.

    I have witnessed in my own life and other peoples God’s Miraculous Power and I have no don’t doubt it is for now, thank you again Pastor Chris for sharing a very heart warming witness to God’s Presence today in our lives.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Thanks for the feedback… I too believe that love and the fruit of the spirit is so important in our lives as believers! Even in his teaching on the gifts of the spirit in 1 Corinthians 13, Paul emphasizes the importance of walking in love… May God richly bless you both today as well!

Leave a Reply

