Are You Having a Bad Day Today?

Are You Having a Bad Day Today?:

sad child

“Why am I discouraged? Why so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again – my Savior and my God! Now I am deeply discouraged, but I will remember your kindness – I hear the tumult of the raging seas as your waves and surging tides sweep over me. Through each day the LORD pours his unfailing love upon me, and through each night I sing his songs, praying to God who gives me life. “O God my rock,” I cry, “Why have you forsaken me? Why must I wander in darkness, oppressed by my enemies?” Their taunts pierce me like a fatal wound. They scoff, “Where is this God of yours?” Why am I discouraged? Why so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again – my Savior and my God.” (Psalm 42:5-11).

I just finished reading a message thread posted on an internet site. The title of the thread was, “Having a Bad Year.” Here’s some of the comments various people posted, “I’m curious, has anyone else out there just had a really bad year so far? Ever just have a huge amount of bad luck? Crappy situations? I hate to whine since most of this stuff is caused because of myself, but eventually it just gets annoying.” “Yeah, I know it seems like there is no point trying to get ahead sometimes. You get a $200 bonus at work and find out your kid needs new glasses. Or your fridge breaks down, or your car needs new tires.” “Earlier in the year, I probably hit one of my lower points…and I thought my life totally sucked, but then things got a bit better.” As I read through that message thread, it made me think of the above Psalm.

Just because you’ve become a Christian doesn’t mean you’re never going to have a bad day. But when trouble comes into your life, it doesn’t have to overcome you. Do you remember what Jesus said? “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33). As long as we’re living on this sin-cursed Earth, we’re going to experience trials and difficulties, but we can still have peace, and be of good cheer. How? If we can get our eyes off of our problems, and onto the Lord! “I will lift up my eyes to the hills–From whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth.” (Psalm 121:1-2).

The Psalmist wrote, “Why am I discouraged? Why so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again – my Savior and my God!” Notice that it doesn’t say that you won’t get discouraged or sad in the Christian life. But when we do get frustrated or depressed we can choose to put our hope in God, to trust Him and to praise Him. He’s our Saviour and our God! He’s our Big Dad up in Heaven, and He loves us very much. When you get discouraged, remind yourself of God’s kindness, and His unfailing love.

So you might be having a bad day today. You may feel all alone, like no one understands, no one cares, no one knows what you’re going through. But Someone does. There is a Friend who will stick closer to you than a brother, who will never leave you nor forsake you. “God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear…” (Psalm 46:1-2).

Almighty God, I pray for those who are reading these words today who are going through the most severe of trials and tribulations. I pray for those who are maybe just having a ‘bad day’ today. Lord, grant them the courage and strength to call upon your name, and to come to Jesus, and enter into your rest. May your peace and joy descend upon them right now, in the precious and mighty name of your son Jesus Christ, amen.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

