Intimacy with the Lord Jesus

Intimacy with the Lord Jesus:

heart

“The song of songs, which is Solomon’s. Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth– For your love is better than wine. Because of the fragrance of your good ointments, Your name is ointment poured forth; Therefore the virgins love you. Draw me away!” (Song of Solomon 1:1-4).

When we speak of intimacy, many people get uncomfortable because they think we are talking about a sexual relationship, but that is not always the case. Intimacy is defined as, close familiarity or association; nearness in friendship. Is that how you would describe your relationship with the Lord Jesus? If I was to ask most Christians if they had a personal relationship with Jesus, they would say yes, but intimacy speaks of something deeper and closer. Today we are going to take a look at the Song of Solomon, a book in the Bible that, although it describes a physical relationship between a husband and a wife, also spiritually speaks of the relationship between Jesus Christ and those of us who make up His Church. “Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her.” (Ephesians 5:25). As Christians, we are the beloved Bride of Christ.

The Song of Songs opens with the heart’s cry of the bride, “Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth—For your love is better than wine.” The Apostle Paul said, “For my determined purpose is, that I may know Him—that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him.” (Philippians 3:10, Amplified). Can you say the same thing? If you knew how much He loved you and delighted in you, I am sure this truth would draw you to Him. His name—the name of Jesus—is sweet ointment poured forth. No wonder the pure in heart love Him, and cry out, “Draw me away!” We have a promise from the Bible that says, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” (James 4:8).

In Chapter two of the Song of Solomon, we see a description of the nature of our precious Lord Jesus, “I am the rose of Sharon, And the lily of the valleys.” (2:1). the bride declares, “He brought me to the banqueting house, And his banner over me was love.” (2:4). What a joy it is to know that the Lord has brought us to His banqueting table, and that His banner over us is love. He has made us accepted in the beloved. Behold what manner of love the Father has bestowed upon us, that we should be called the children of God! He loves us with an everlasting love.

In chapter three, the bride goes looking for the lover of her soul, “Scarcely had I passed by them, When I found the one I love. I held him and would not let him go.” (3:4). When you draw close to Jesus in prayer, do you love to wait on the Lord in His presence, or are you in a hurry to get back about your normal business? Do you get alone in your prayer closet until you’re not alone anymore, where you hear the voice of Jesus, and are comforted? Oh, listen for the voice of Jesus, knocking on the door of your heart and desiring to come in and have fellowship with you!

“I sleep, but my heart is awake; It is the voice of my beloved! He knocks, saying, Open for me, my sister, my love, My dove, my perfect one.” (5:2). In chapter five, the bride delayed arising to open the door for her beloved, and when she finally opened the door, he was gone, because she had taken too long. However, longing for the close friendship with her husband, the young bride arose and sought for him, declaring a song of her love, “Yes, he is altogether lovely. This is my beloved, And this is my friend.” (5:16). Can you say of the Lord Jesus, He is altogether lovely, He is my beloved, He is my friend? Can you say with confidence in your heart, “I am my beloved’s, And his desire is toward me.” (7:10).

My prayer for you is that you would hear the gentle voice of Jesus, longing for intimate fellowship with your heart. My desire is that you would know and believe the love that the Lord has for you. His desire is toward you. “Many waters cannot quench love, Nor can the floods drown it.” (8:7). We know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love. Rejoice in His love for you today!

Check out this great song by Jesus Culture based on the Song of Solomon:

Here’s another powerful song they do all about how much God loves us:

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

