Speechless

Speechless:

speechless

“Can you search out the deep things of God? Can you find out the limits of the Almighty?” (Job 11:7).

Have you ever wondered why bad things sometimes happen to good people? Have you ever been disappointed with God?  Have you ever wrestled with what CS Lewis called The Problem of Pain?  He said, “If God were good, He would make His creatures perfectly happy, and if He were almighty He would be able to do what he wished. But the creatures are not happy. Therefore God lacks either goodness, or power, or both.” This is the question of the ages, one that mankind has wrestled with for thousands of years, and yet there is no answer that has brought any kind of satisfaction to those who are asking it. People throw out trite phrases like, “God moves in mysterious ways,” or “All things work together to those who love God,” but these do not always bring comfort to those in tough times.

As I wrestled with these questions, I came to a realization of something. I can’t convince anyone that God exists, or that God is good, or loving, or faithful, no matter how convinced I am of those truths on my own. I realize that ultimately what is needed for those who are going through the valley of the shadow of death is a personal life-changing experience with the living God for themselves. Without that, no amount of doctrine, theology, philosophies or ideas will change anything. And so, my prayer for you today is that you would have the power to understand how wide, how long, how high, and how deep God’s love really is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is so great you will never fully understand it. Then you will be filled with the fullness of life and power that comes from God! Now glory be to God! By his mighty power at work within us, he is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope. (Eph. 3:18-20). God can’t always be explained, but He can always be exalted and experienced. Blessed be His name!

Speechless – by Steven Curtis Chapman:

My words fall like drops of rain, my lips are like clouds.
I’ve said so many things, trying to figure you out.
As mercy opens my eyes, my words are stolen away.
At this breathtaking view of your grace… 
 
I am Speechless, I’m astonished and amazed
I am silenced by your wondrous grace.
You have saved me, You have raised me from the grave.
And I am Speechless, in your presence now.
I’m astounded as I consider how
You have shown us the love that leaves us speechless. 
 
So what kind of love could this be, that would trade heaven’s throne for a cross
And to think that you still celebrate, over finding just one who was lost.
To know you rejoice over us, the God of this whole universe.
It’s a story too great for words… 
 
Oh how great is the love the Father has lavished upon us,
That we should be called the sons and daughters of God
About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

