The Christian’s Devotional Life #1 – Worship

The Christian’s Devotional Life #1 – Worship:

worship

“But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and for ever. Amen.” (2 Peter 3:18).

Today I want to talk to you about the Christian’s devotional life. Devotion is defined as: “The state of being devoted; addiction; eager inclination; strong attachment love or affection; zeal; especially, feelings toward God appropriately expressed by acts of worship; devoutness.” Do you have a personal devotional life? Indeed, this is one of the most important aspects of the Christian life. It is a time where you express your love for God in a personal way, on your own time, outside of a structured church worship service. If this has been a struggle for you, then I pray that you will be challenged and encouraged by these words.

In our Scripture above, we are commanded to grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. But how do we do this? There are three main aspects of the Christian’s devotional life that we’re going to take a look at over the next few days: personal worship, personal prayer, and personal Bible study.

The first aspect of the Christian’s devotional life is that of worship. In the Bible we are commanded, “O come, let us worship and bow down: let us kneel before the LORD our maker.” (Psalm 95:6). There are many Christians who think that worship is just something that we’re supposed to do at church on Sundays. However, worship is not merely an outward religious expression—it is an attitude of the heart. If we are not worshipping God from our hearts from Monday to Saturday, then it will be very challenging, in fact almost hypocritical, to stand up at church on Sunday to worship God there. Jesus said, “God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth.” (John 4:24). If you’ve never taken time at home on your own to worship God, I want to challenge you to begin this daily habit.

I remember shortly after I became a Christian buying my first worship CD, and spending literally hours a day in my room praising the Lord Jesus. I would close the door and sing, dance, shout, clap, bow down and celebrate before my God. Why? Not because someone told me that I had to, but because I wanted to. I loved my Redeemer, and I had a passionate desire to let Him know the feelings of my heart. Although my life is considerably busier today than it was when I was a single young man when I first got saved, I still make personal worship with my God a priority in my life. Whether it’s at home, at the church, or while driving in the van, praise and worship is a regular part of my quiet time in the secret place.

Do you have a personal devotional life? Do you worship God? Do you pray? Do you read your Bible? These daily exercises are the life blood of the Christian—do not neglect them. “Come, now is the time to worship. Come, now is the time to give your heart. Come, just as you are to worship. Come, just as you are before your God. One day every tongue will confess You are God. One day every knee will bow. Still the greatest treasure remains for those who gladly choose You now. Come!” The Bible says that God inhabits the praises of His people (Ps. 22:3), and that in His presence there is fulness of joy (Ps. 16:11). Let’s worship God…

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

