Galatians #4 – I am God’s Child

Galatians #4 – I am God’s Child!

Hannah and Dad

This is a photo of me and my daughter Hannah.

“But when the fullness of the time had come, God sent forth His Son, born of a woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, that we might receive the adoption as sons. And because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into your hearts, crying out, “Abba, Father!” Therefore you are no longer a slave but a son, and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.” (Galatians 4:4-7).

When our kids were younger, an interesting would happen whenever our family went out for dinner at a restaurant. When the waitress came around to take our drink order, and she asked the children what kind of a drink they would like, they would always say, “Whatever daddy’s having!” Sure, they may have some kind of drink that they prefer over others, but they would always order the same drink that I am drinking. If I order a Coke, they want a Coke. If I order milk, they want a glass of milk. One morning I asked my daughter Tori what her favourite colour was, and she replied, “Orange.” (Orange is one of my favourite colours). When I asked her why her favourite colour was orange, she responded by saying, “Because I love you!” Because she loves me?  I never told her that if she loves me she has to have the same favourite colour as me. But as my child, she wants to be like her daddy. She wants to do the things her dad wants her to do (most of the time!). If I can give one more example here, on Sunday mornings, when our family is getting ready for church, Austin used to always ask if he could “have his hair spiky” – just like dad’s. What a valuable lesson there is for us here today.

A lot of times when we study the topic of being God’s child, we look at the blessings and benefits of being one of God’s children. As children of God, we are no longer merely servants, we are His children, adopted into God’s family, heirs of God, joint heirs with Jesus, accepted in the beloved! If God is for us, who can be against us? We are more than conquerors through Him who loved us, and nothing can separate us from God’s love. What indescribable joy this is to the believer! However, today, I would like to take a look at the other side of the coin—some of the responsibilities of being one of God’s children.

The Word of God challenges us to, “Therefore be imitators of God as dear children. And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma.” (Ephesians 5:1-2). In the same way that my children want to be like me, just because I’m their father, so too should you and I have a desire to be imitators of God as dear children. And how are we to imitate our God? The Bible gives us that answer. “Walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us.” In other words, “In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.” (1 John 4:10-11).

As God’s children, we have been called to imitate our father. If He says His favourite colour is blue, then our favourite colour should be blue. But to make this really simple and practical, if the Bible says that God is love, and His nature is love, then we too should be people of love. “And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, just as God in Christ forgave you.” (Ephesians 4:32). Love somebody today…

Suggested Bible Reading for Today: Galatians 4

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

