Galatians #2 – I Am Crucified with Christ

Galatians #2 – I am Crucified with Christ:

Galatians

“I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20).

This is one of my favourite verses in the Bible. Today, as we continue through the book of Galatians, let us see what we can learn from this little verse…

1.         I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me.

What does it mean to be crucified with Christ? Jesus said that if anyone wants to be one of His disciples, that person must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow him. But obviously we aren’t crucified in the same way that Jesus was, who died as the sacrifice for our sins. How then are we crucified with Christ? “Or do you not know that as many of us as were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into His death? Therefore we were buried with Him through baptism into death, that just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life. For if we have been united together in the likeness of His death, certainly we also shall be in the likeness of His resurrection, knowing this, that our old man was crucified with Him, that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves of sin.” (Romans 6:3-6). It is our old sinful nature that is crucified with Christ and destroyed, so that we are no longer in slavery to sin. Now, just as Jesus was raised from the dead, we too have His resurrection power to live a new life of holiness. To be crucified with Christ means we are willing to allow Jesus Christ to be the Lord of our lives, to walk in obedience to God’s Word. We are dying to ourselves, and our old way of living and doing things.

2.         And the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God.

Because I have been crucified with Christ, and because Christ lives in me, I have a new way of living. The life I now live, while still here on planet earth, is living by the faith of the Son of God. What does that mean? “knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law but by faith in Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Christ Jesus, that we might be justified by faith in Christ and not by the works of the law; for by the works of the law no flesh shall be justified.” (Galatians 2:16). Our salvation isn’t based upon our good works—it is based on our faith in Jesus Christ who was the sacrifice for our sins. As Paul later says in the book of Galatians, “But that no man is justified by the law in the sight of God, it is evident: for, The just shall live by faith.” (3:11).

3.         Who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Why am I willing to be crucified with Christ? Because He loves me! Because He gave Himself for me! He gave himself for our sins, that he might deliver us from this present evil world, according to the will of God and our Father! You ask me why I live my life for Jesus Christ? You ask me why I am a disciple of His? Because He loves me. He gave His life for me. He died so that I could live. He died on the Cross so that my sins could be forgiven, so that I could be saved, so that I could go to Heaven. How can we not choose to live our lives for Him?

Suggested Bible Reading for Today: Galatians 2

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

