Go to the Secret Place

Go to the Secret Place:

secret place

“He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.” (Psalm 91:1-2).

Where do you go to when life gets hard, and it doesn’t seem to make any sense anymore?  There’s one place I like to go where I know that, no matter what storms are raging, or how fierce the battle becomes, I can always find rest and strength… in the secret place. What is the secret place?  It is the place of prayer, of close and intimate fellowship with the Most High Lord God Almighty. Jesus Himself has said, “But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.” (Matthew 6:6).

My heart has been greatly overwhelmed lately with an ever-increasing awareness of the pain and despair and suffering of those in the world around me. I see people who are without peace and without hope in this world because they don’t know the Lord, and the peace that comes from being in His presence. They don’t know the joy that comes from worshipping the Lord, being in His presence, where there is fullness of joy and peace. I can’t imagine what it would be like to have to live life on Planet Earth without my Redeemer by my side. It’s no wonder to me that people take their lives in utter desperation when they don’t know the Lord. We are living in troubled times. But did not God warn us beforehand that these days would come upon the earth?  “This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.” (2 Timothy 3:1).

We are living in difficult times! Jesus said, “Indeed the hour is coming, yes, has now come, that you will be scattered, each to his own, and will leave Me alone. And yet I am not alone, because the Father is with Me. These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (John 16:32-33). As long as we’re living in the world, we’re going to have trouble and tribulation. But Jesus said, “In ME, you will have peace. In ME, you can be of good cheer. In the secret place of the Most High, you dwell live the shadow of the Almighty. He is your refuge and your fortress. He is your God. You can trust in Him.”

I may not know what your storm or struggle is today, but there is one thing I do know. There is a secret place where you can run to where there is peace and safety. Psalm 91 is a wonderful promise of protection and security for the child of God. If you want encouragement, take a few moments today to read through that Psalm and meditate on the truth contained in it. The Lord has made us this wonderful promise,

“Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he has known My name. He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him, And show him My salvation.” (Psalm 91:14-16).

Set your love upon the Lord today, and He will deliver you, and He will set you high above all of your troubles. Call upon Him, and He will answer. He will be with you in trouble. He will deliver you, honour you, and satisfy you with long life. He will show you His salvation. Go to the secret place today, and find rest for your weary soul.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

