The Refreshing Rain of the Holy Spirit

The Refreshing Rain of the Holy Spirit:

stand in the rain

“Who has performed and done it, Calling the generations from the beginning? I, the Lord, am the first; And with the last I am He…Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand…For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand, Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you…The poor and needy seek water, but there is none, Their tongues fail for thirst. I, the Lord, will hear them; I, the God of Israel, will not forsake them. I will open rivers in desolate heights, And fountains in the midst of the valleys; I will make the wilderness a pool of water, And the dry land springs of water.” (Isaiah 41:4,10,13,17-18).

In my daily Bible study time for the past couple of weeks, I have been reading through the book of Isaiah. Ever since I hit chapter 39, I have noticed a recurring theme of comfort, hope and encouragement, and felt that it was a very timely and needed message for people in today’s dark world. May these few devotional thoughts from the prophet Isaiah instill confidence in the Lord today, and bring refreshing to your soul.

THE CHARACTER OF GOD

You cannot trust someone you don’t know. This is one of the reasons why Bible reading is so important, as indeed the Apostle Paul said, “So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” (Romans 10:17). The more you know about God’s Word, the more you will know about the God of the Word, and the more you know Him, the more you will love and trust Him. The Bible tells us that God is the First and the Last, the Sovereign Lord of all history. God is in control. Even when we can’t see it, and we don’t understand what He’s doing, He’s always working.

THE COMMANDMENTS OF GOD

“Fear not…do not be dismayed…” Two times in our above Scripture, the Lord commands us to not be afraid. Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world gives, I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” (John 14:27). Do you think it would be fair of God to command us to do something we couldn’t do? Of course not! So when the Bible tells us to fear not—to not let our heart be troubled or afraid, there must be a way for us to be free from fear. How can we be free from fear? “Be anxious for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passes all understanding, shall guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7). Instead of worrying about your problems, pray about them.

THE PROMISES OF GOD

Consider some of these wonderful promises that the Lord has made to us:

  • I am with you: God is always with us! He will never leave us nor forsake us. Praise the Lord.
  • I am your God: If God is for us, then who can be against us? No one!
  • I will strengthen you: When we wait on the Lord, our strength will be renewed.
  • I will help you: When we’re in trouble, let’s go to God’s throne of grace to find help.
  • I will uphold you: Do you ever feel weary? Feel like giving up? He will uphold you!
  • I the LORD your God will hold your right hand: What peace and comfort!

Do you feel poor and needy today, seeking refreshing waters for your soul? God promises us that He will hear us, and He will not forsake us. He will open rivers, and fountains, and pools and springs of water, and pour out His refreshing Holy Spirit upon our dry and weary souls. Lord, would you revive us with the rain of your Holy Spirit today? Send your rain, Lord! In Jesus’ precious name, amen…

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

