Renew Your Strength

Renew Your Strength:

eagle

“To whom then will you liken Me, Or to whom shall I be equal?” says the Holy One. Lift up your eyes on high, And see who has created these things, Who brings out their host by number; He calls them all by name, By the greatness of His might And the strength of His power; Not one is missing. Why do you say, O Jacob, And speak, O Israel: “My way is hidden from the Lord, And my just claim is passed over by my God”? Have you not known? Have you not heard? The everlasting God, the Lord, The Creator of the ends of the earth, Neither faints nor is weary. His understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the weak, And to those who have no might He increases strength. Even the youths shall faint and be weary, And the young men shall utterly fall, But those who wait on the Lord Shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:25-31).

Sometimes, when we go through dark, difficult and discouraging times in our lives, we can feel like giving up. We lose our strength; we lose the will to go on. It seems like there’s no light at the end of the tunnel, and we just want to crawl under a rock and die. If that’s you today, then I pray that the above Scripture from Isaiah will encourage your heart.

I want to encourage YOU with the truth contained in Isaiah chapter 40. The prophet declares: “How can you say the LORD does not see your troubles? How can you say God refuses to hear your case?” There are so many people today who think that God doesn’t care or understand their difficulties. But the Bible challenges us with these words, “Have you never heard or understood? Don’t you know that the LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth? He never grows faint or weary.” Our God is a great and mighty warrior! If He was strong and wise enough to create the entire universe, don’t you think He has the wisdom and ability to help you with your problems? He gives power to those who are tired and worn out; he offers strength to the weak. If we wait on the Lord, we will renew our strength.

Sometimes we grow weary and feel like giving up. It’s during those times that we need to turn to the Lord for strength. “Hear my cry, O God; Attend to my prayer. From the end of the earth I will cry to You, When my heart is overwhelmed; Lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For You have been a shelter for me, A strong tower from the enemy.” (Psalm 61:1-3).

“I will love thee, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower. I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.” (Psalm 18:1-3).

How do we wait on the Lord? We spend time in His presence in worship and prayer. We meditate on His Word, reading passages of Scriptures like the Psalms, and allow Him to minister to our hearts.

Lord, I pray for all of my readers today who might feel discouraged, lonely, afraid or worried. Give them the courage to call upon your name, which is a strong tower, and to run into your arms and find safety, security, comfort and rest. In Jesus precious’ name, amen!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

