It Ain’t Over ’til It’s Over #4

It Ain’t Over ‘til It’s Over #4—The Lord is My Light:

candle in darkness

“Therefore I will look to the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation; My God will hear me. Do not rejoice over me, my enemy; When I fall, I will arise; When I sit in darkness, The Lord will be a light to me.” (Micah 7:7-8).

The prophet Micah declared the faith filled words, “My God will hear me. Though I fall, I will arise. Though I sit in darkness, the Lord will be a light unto me.” What does it mean to sit in darkness? This speaks of someone who is stationary, someone who is choosing to sit and stay where they are. Sometimes in our lives we choose to do the wrong thing. We choose to sit in darkness. We choose to disobey God, and break His commandments. When we sit in darkness, some people think that God sits up in Heaven with this big club, ready to hit you over the head, and say, “You blew it again. I just knew you would. You’re always messing up.” The Bible doesn’t say that God’s just waiting for you to mess up. It says that when you sit in darkness, the Lord will be a light unto you. He comes with the big Holy Spirit spotlight and says, “I see that you’ve fallen again. I see that you’ve gotten stuck in that miry clay. Do you want a hand? Can I lift you out of there?” Remember, Jesus said, “For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.” (John 3:17).

The Bible says, “The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” (Psalm 27:1). It doesn’t matter how dark it is, when you know that God is your light and your salvation. You don’t have to be afraid. “He also brought me up out of a horrible pit, Out of the miry clay, And set my feet upon a rock, And established my steps.” (Psalm 40:2). When we fall, when we sit in darkness—know that God is watching, because He cares. He wants to help you out of that difficult situation you’ve gotten yourself into. Remember, it ain’t over until it’s over! Listen to this story:

Some time ago I saw a picture of an old burned-out mountain shack. All that remained was the chimney…the charred debris of what had been that family’s sole possession. In front of this destroyed home stood an old grandfather-looking man dressed only in his underclothes with a small boy clutching a pair of patched overalls. It was evident that the child was crying. Beneath the picture were the words which the artist felt the old man was speaking to the boy. They were simple words, yet they presented a profound theology and philosophy of life. Those words were, “Hush child, God ain’t dead!”  In the midst of all of life’s troubles and failures, I need mental pictures to remind me that all is not lost as long as God is alive and in control of His world.

Isn’t that encouraging? It doesn’t matter how far you’ve fallen down. It doesn’t matter how black the darkness has gotten around you. It ain’t over, ‘til it’s over… Is He the God of your salvation today? If you don’t know the Lord, if you’ve never come to know Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Saviour, He is not yet the God of your salvation. Before you can look to Him and wait on Him, you need to meet the Lord Jesus personally. Jesus said, “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matt. 11:28). When we carry the weight of sin, the only place we will find rest for our weary souls is when we come to Jesus. The Bible says, “For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” (Romans 10:13). If you don’t know the Lord today, but you recognize that you have fallen short of God’s standard—you have sinned—and you recognize that you need a Saviour, someone to pick you up and take you out of the dust and dirt and set your feet upon the Solid Rock, then call upon His name right now.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Ain’t Over ’til It’s Over #4

  1. So encouraging! Thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

