It Ain’t Over ’til It’s Over #3

It Ain’t Over ‘til It’s Over #3—I Will Arise:

“Therefore I will look to the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation; My God will hear me. Do not rejoice over me, my enemy; When I fall, I will arise; When I sit in darkness, The Lord will be a light to me.” (Micah 7:7-8).

There is a common misunderstanding in the church today. There are people who believe that, once you become a Christian, you will never have any problems again. And yet, this is not what the Bible teaches. Consider these Scriptures:

“These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world you shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33). Notice that the Lord Jesus Christ Himself said that as long as we’re in the world, we’re going to experience trouble. The Bible also says, “For a just man falls seven times, and rises up again: but the wicked shall fall into mischief.” (Proverbs 24:16). It doesn’t say that a Christian will never fall. What it does say is that, even though we do fall, we can get back up again. “Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the LORD upholds him with his hand.” (Psalm 37:24). Even though we fall, we are not completely destroyed, because God is holding our hand. Isn’t that encouraging news?

ryleJ.C. Ryle wrote: “If we are true Christians, we must not expect everything smooth in our journey to heaven. We must count it no strange thing, if we have to endure sicknesses, losses, bereavements, and disappointments, just like other people. Free pardon and full forgiveness, grace by the way and glory to the end – all this our Savior has promised to give. But He has never promised that we shall have no afflictions. He loves us too well to promise that.”rdon and full forgiveness, grace by the way and glory to the end – all this our Savior has promised to give. But He has never promised that we shall have no afflictions. He loves us too well to promise that.”

The difference between a Christian and a non-Christian is that with God on our side, when trouble comes, it doesn’t have to overcome us. Even the Apostle Paul said, “We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed.” (2 Cor. 4:8-9). So take heart: even though you fall, you don’t have to be defeated. Why? Because our God will never leave us nor forsake us! He never sleeps nor slumbers. He is faithful.

The prophet Micah said, “When I fall, I will arise.” Once we accept the fact that we’re going to fall sometimes, we can prepare ourselves and know what to do when we fall. Micah said, “Therefore I will look to the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation; My God will hear me.” When you fall, look to the Lord, and wait for the God of your salvation! Your God will hear you! Remember—it ain’t over, ‘til it’s over. And it’s not over until you get back up again. So arise!

  • God has not promised skies ever blue,
  • Flower-strewn pathways always for you.
  • God has not promised sun without rain,
  • Joy without sorrow, peace without pain.
  • But He has promised strength from above,
  • Unfailing sympathy, undying love.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

