It Ain’t Over ’til It’s Over #1

It Ain’t Over ‘til It’s Over #1:

“Woe is me! For I am like those who gather summer fruits, Like those who glean vintage grapes; There is no cluster to eat Of the first-ripe fruit which my soul desires. The faithful man has perished from the earth, And there is no one upright among men. They all lie in wait for blood; Every man hunts his brother with a net. That they may successfully do evil with both hands– The prince asks for gifts, The judge seeks a bribe, And the great man utters his evil desire; So they scheme together. The best of them is like a brier; The most upright is sharper than a thorn hedge; The day of your watchman and your punishment comes; Now shall be their perplexity. Do not trust in a friend; Do not put your confidence in a companion; Guard the doors of your mouth From her who lies in your bosom. For son dishonors father, Daughter rises against her mother, Daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; A man’s enemies are the men of his own household.” (Micah 7:1-6).

Micah was a prophet in the Old Testament whose name means “Who is like the Lord?” In the current chapter, he is here describing the terrible conditions in his nation. He said that, like someone who was desperate to find fruit on the trees but could find none, so he was eager to find a righteous person in the land, but could not. He said that there were no upright people in the nation, and that everyone had turned to evil of every kind. He said you couldn’t trust your friends, family members, or anyone. And in the dark state of such a world he cries, “Woe is me!” In other words, “It’s hopeless. Poor me. I’m miserable!” How similar was his world to ours today.

“The prophet, having complained of the wickedness of the times he lived in, here fastens upon some considerations for comfort. The case is bad, but it is not desperate” (Matthew Henry). In other words, even though things were bad, Micah wasn’t about to give up. So, what did the prophet do in these desperate times, where there seemed like there was no hope? The answer is found in verses 7-8 in this chapter…

“Therefore I will look to the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation; My God will hear me. Do not rejoice over me, my enemy; When I fall, I will arise; When I sit in darkness, The Lord will be a light to me.” (Micah 7:7-8).

What did the prophet Micah do in these dark and troubled times? He COULD have said, “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.” But He didn’t. Instead, He chose to look to the Lord. He chose to wait on the God of His salvation, because he knew that his God would hear him. He boldly declared, “Don’t rejoice over me, O my enemy—when I fall, I will arise. When I sit in darkness, the Lord will be a light unto me.” This Scripture always reminds me of the famous baseball player, Yogi Berra.

yogi berraYogi Berra was a baseball player on the New York Yankees. He was the one who came up with such clever and witty expressions as, “Never answer an anonymous letter” and “When you come to a fork in the road…Take it.” But the interesting thing about Yogi is that no matter how badly his team seemed to be losing, Yogi refused to let his confidence sway. When everyone else was dismissing his team as losers and shaking their heads, Yogi would reply, “It ain’t over ’til it’s over.” Today, I pray that the words of the prophet Micah would encourage you with hope. You may have fallen, but you can still get up. You may be sitting in darkness, but the Lord will be a light unto you. Remember—it ain’t over, ‘til it’s over. Tomorrow, we’re going to look at Micah 7:7-8 more in depth to see how this message can encourage us in our lives. God bless you!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

