Know the Lord… Personally

Know the Lord…Personally:

“But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord: I will put My law in their minds, and write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people. No more shall every man teach his neighbor, and every man his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ for they all shall know Me, from the least of them to the greatest of them, says the Lord. For I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more.” (Jeremiah 31:33-34).

I had a life-changing encounter with a teenager one Friday night. As I sat and talked to this young person, I began to get beyond the superficial “how’s it going?” that we all so often get caught up in, and asked him, “How are you doing spiritually, in your relationship with the Lord?” He said, “On a scale from 1 to 10?” I said, “Sure.” He said, “About a four.” I appreciated his honesty, but continued to press on. “So, what would it take for you to move from a four to say a 7 or 8?” He said he didn’t know, and that even though he prayed every day, there wasn’t a passion in his life to seek after the Lord, to know Him and serve Him.

I realized how common his situation was among many youth that I know who were raised in the church – there is little excitement with them in their relationship with God. Sadly, for many Christian young people, God isn’t a real, living and present reality in their lives. When they were children and went to Sunday school, they worshipped the-God-of-their-parents, or the-God-of-their-Sunday-School-teacher, but when it came time to transition to a personal faith in the Lord Jesus Christ, somewhere along the way, they fell by the wayside.

Today, I want to stir you up in you a passion and desire in your hearts to seek to know the Lord. My heart breaks when I see people who don’t know the Lord Jesus Christ in a deep and personal way, because I know that until that happens, they will never be completely satisfied or fulfilled. We have a promise from the Lord in the book of Jeremiah: Speaking of the New Covenant that Jesus Christ inaugurated with His death on the Cross, the Lord promised that He would be our God, and we would be His people, and that we would all know the Lord, from the least to the greatest. That tells me that young children – and teenagers – can know the Lord personally. This happens through the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ. Jesus Himself said, “It is written in the Prophets: And they will all be taught by God. Everyone who has listened to and learned from the Father comes to Me.” (John 6:45).

What does it mean that we will be taught by God? It means that He will teach us how to come to the Lord Jesus Christ, to find forgiveness for our sins, so that we can be saved. Jesus also said, “No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him.” (John 6:44). And so we see that even if we come to Jesus to find salvation and forgiveness for our sins, it was only because the Father was drawing us unto Himself. We love Him because He first loved us.

As I parted with that teenager, I asked him if I could pray for him. I prayed that he would encounter the Lord in a personal and life-changing way, and that the Lord would reveal Himself to him, and that he would never be the same again. I’m praying that same prayer for you today. I pray that you would grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. (2 Pet. 3:18). I pray that the Lord would become so real to you, that you would know in whom you have believed (2 Tim. 2:12), that you would know and believe the love that God has for you (1 John 4:16). I pray that you would be wrecked for ordinary living, and that every day you would be absolutely consumed with a burning passionate desire to know the Lord. “And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.” (Jer. 29:13). YOU can know the Lord…personally.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

