The Love of Christ Compels Me

The Love of Christ Compels Me:

“For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus: that if One died for all, then all died; and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again.” (2 Cor. 5:14-15).

Have you ever wondered why I do what I do? Why, in addition to being a husband, a father of four, and pastoring a church, why I write daily devotionals? I’ve been asking myself the same question for the last couple of days. The answer is found in the above Scripture, written by the Apostle Paul.

THE LOVE OF CHRIST COMPELS ME. What does that mean? I am reminded of the prophet Jeremiah who said, “Then I said, “I will not make mention of Him, Nor speak anymore in His name.” But His word was in my heart like a burning fire Shut up in my bones; I was weary of holding it back, And I could not.” (Jeremiah 20:9). I can’t help myself – I MUST tell others about what the Lord has done for me! This is not something I do because I am forced to. The Lord has been so good to me, I can‘t keep quiet.

“Oh, sing to the Lord a new song! Sing to the Lord, all the earth. Sing to the Lord, bless His name; Proclaim the good news of His salvation from day to day. Declare His glory among the nations, His wonders among all peoples. For the Lord is great and greatly to be praised; He is to be feared above all gods. For all the gods of the peoples are idols, But the Lord made the heavens. Honor and majesty are before Him; Strength and beauty are in His sanctuary. Give to the Lord, O families of the peoples, Give to the Lord… the glory due His name.” (Psalm 96:1-8).

My heartfelt desire and prayer for you is that you would know and believe the love that God has for you! My desire is that you would know the good news of His salvation, His wonders, His glory, His greatness, honour, majesty, strength and beauty. “I pray that Christ will be more and more at home in your hearts as you trust in him. May your roots go down deep into the soil of God’s marvelous love. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love really is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is so great you will never fully understand it. Then you will be filled with the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Now glory be to God! By his mighty power at work within us, he is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope. May he be given glory in the church and in Christ Jesus forever and ever through endless ages. Amen.” (Ephesians 3:17-21).

Today, I want to challenge you to seek the Lord. You can pray, and read your Bibles, and go to church, and go through all other kinds of religious exercises, and still not seek or experience the Lord. But as you pray, and as you read God’s Word, do it with the intent and goal of seeking the Lord. He gave us a promise: “And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13). My prayer for you today is that you would not be content with merely religious or external forms, but that you would really and truly know and experience the Lord Jesus Christ in your heart. May His love so consume you and would compel you, too, to no longer live for yourself, but to live for Him who died for you and rose again. Amen!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

