I Need You Now

I Need You Now:

My friend, I need you now – please take me by the hand.

Stand by me in my hour of need, take time to understand

Take my hand, dear friend, and lead me from this place

Chase away my doubts and fears, wipe the tears from off my face

Friend, I cannot stand alone, I need your hand to hold,

The warmth of your gentle touch, in my world that’s grown so cold

Please be a friend to me, and hold me day by day

Because with your loving hand in mine, I know we’ll find the way1

If the words of this poem do not express the feelings of your heart, then I am sure you that you are surrounded by people who are crying out those words. We are living in a cold, dark world, where people are afraid, isolated and lonely because of past hurts and failed relationships. One of my passionate desires as a pastor is to point people to Jesus where they can find healing for their broken hearts, comfort in their mourning, and freedom from fear, worry and anxieties. The Bible says, “Do not be afraid, for I have redeemed you, I have called you by your name, you are mine.” (Isaiah 43:1).

Today, if you need strength and encouragement, go to Jesus. He said, “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest.” (Matthew 11:28, The Message Bible). One of my favourite quotes of all time says: “The Church is not a museum for saints, but a hospital for sinners.” Don’t ever feel that you have to pretend to be something that you’re not. Christianity is not about people acting like they’ve got it all together, but rather it is people who come to Jesus just as they are, to be healed and made whole. I pray that this truth will encourage you today.

There are a lot of mean people in this world, who will hurt you, abuse you, reject you and betray you. And when someone hurts us, our natural inclination is to want to get revenge. But as Christians, God has called us to a higher standard. Jesus said, “Turn the other cheek. Love your enemies. Pray for those who persecute you.” We can’t stop people from hurting us, but we can choose to forgive. Instead of becoming a part of the problem, we can choose to be a part of the solution, healing instead of hurting, building up instead of tearing down. Please read through and meditate on the challenging words in these verses:

“Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. And do not bring sorrow to God’s Holy Spirit by the way you live. Remember, he is the one who has identified you as his own, guaranteeing that you will be saved on the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage, anger, harsh words, and slander, as well as all types of malicious behavior. Instead, be kind to each other, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, just as God through Christ has forgiven you.” (Ephesians 4:29-32).

My desire is to put this Scripture into practice today. I want to speak good and helpful words that will encourage people, instead of abusive language that will hurt others. I want to live a life free from bitterness, anger, negative words, and mean behaviour. I want to be kind, tenderhearted and forgiving to people today, because God is kind to me. Today, you have someone in your life that needs hope-filled words of encouragement. Don’t be silent. Choose to be an encourager and a blessing to others today. Let’s make a commitment to change our world today…one heart at a time.

1. By Becky Tucker, taken from Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Need You Now

  1. Susan Kirton says:

    Awesome post…. So true I had a difficult day and this was right on the money….. Have a blessed week. Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

