There is Still Room for More

There is Still Room for More:

“Jesus said: A man prepared a great feast and sent out many invitations. When all was ready, he sent his servant around to notify the guests that it was time for them to come. But they all began making excuses. One said he had just bought a field and wanted to inspect it, so he asked to be excused. Another said he had just bought five pair of oxen and wanted to try them out. Another had just been married, so he said he couldn’t come. The servant returned and told his master what they had said. His master was angry and said, ‘Go quickly into the streets and alleys of the city and invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, and the blind.’ After the servant had done this, he reported, ‘There is still room for more.’ So his master said, ‘Go out into the country lanes and behind the hedges and urge anyone you find to come, so that the house will be full. For none of those I invited first will get even the smallest taste of what I had prepared for them.'” (Luke 14:16-24).

Several years ago, I through a book called “Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners” by John Bunyan, the spiritual journal of one man into true Christian faith. This Baptist preacher quotes the above parable by Jesus in one of the chapters in this book, and I thought I would share his words with you, with the prayer that they would encourage you today.

“After this, another doubt did come with strength upon me, “What if the day of grace should be past and gone?” How do you know if you have overstayed the time of mercy? Wherefore I went up and down bemoaning my sad condition, counting myself worse than a thousand fools for standing off (away from Jesus) thus long, and spending so many years in sin as I had done, still crying out, “Oh, that I had turned sooner. Oh, that I had turned seven years ago.” It made me angry with myself to think that I should have no more sense but to trifle away my time till my soul and heaven were lost. But when I had been long vexed with this fear and was scarcely able to take one step more…these words broke into my mind, “And still there is room…Compel them to come in, that my house may be filled.” (Luke 14:22-23). These words, but especially those, “AND STILL THERE IS ROOM,” were sweet words to me, for truly I thought that by them I saw there was place enough in heaven for me. Moreover, when the Lord Jesus spoke those words, He thought of me…” (John Bunyan).

I pray that the words that our Lord Jesus spoke would encourage you, too. The Heavenly Father has prepared a feast in Heaven for ALL who will come to Jesus. Many people will make excuses, and refuse to come, but to all who come to the Father through Jesus, He welcomes with open arms. There is still room more – for you – and the Father wants His house to be full.

If you have not yet believed on the Lord Jesus Christ, and trusted Him to be your Lord, your Saviour, your everything, isn’t it about time you did? Call upon the name of the Lord today and be saved. There is still room for you. Come with your sins, with all of your weaknesses and burdens. Come to Jesus, and cast your cares on Him, for He cares for you. Come to Jesus, you weary one, and find rest for your soul. Turn from your sins, and turn to God today.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

