What is the Reason You Live?

What is the Reason You Live?

“I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20).

[Today’s devotional was written in the summer of 2002 after returning from a mission trip. It is still my heart cry today!]

What is the reason you live? My heart’s cry is to know the Lord more deeply and intimately, to be consumed with a passion to know Him, and live a radical life that glorifies Him. I’ve stepped over the line, and I’m done with low living and compromising. I’m going all the way with Jesus. I want to pay the price, whatever it takes, to see genuine revival in my life, my family, my youth group, my church, my community, and my world. Lord, consume me with your refiner’s fire, no turning back. This has been my prayer over the last couple of weeks as I’ve been in California. During our mission trip to Gleanings, the Lord really challenged me in my relationship with Him, calling me to a deeper level of consecration and devotion to Him. I will never be the same again. In the words of the missionary martyr Jim Elliott, “That man is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. God, I pray, light these idle sticks of my life, and may I burn up for thee. Consume my life my God for it is thine. I seek not a long life, but a full one like Yours.”

So I ask you again, what is the reason you live? Can you relate to the words of the Apostle Paul in the above Scripture? My life is not my own – I’ve been bought with a price. Jesus died for me – He died so my sins could be forgiven. How can I not serve Him with my whole life? How can I not live for Him? Is there any other logical or reasonable way to live, in the light of eternity? “People who do not know the Lord ask why we waste our lives as missionaries. They forget they too are expending their lives, and when the bubble has burst, they will have nothing of eternal significance to show for the years they have wasted.” (Nate Saint).

As Joan of Arc was dying at the stake, she said, “Every man gives his life for what he believes.”One life is all we have – once we live it it’s gone. What are you living your life for? Are you living your life for the Gospel? What’s your passion? Why do you live? I want to live a life totally sold out for my Master. At the end of my life, I want to be able to say, like the Apostle Paul did, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” (2 Tim. 4:7). Deitrich Bonhoffer said, “When Jesus calls a man, He bids Him come and die.” Are you willing to die for Jesus? Are you willing to live for Him? It is time to live our lives for the Gospel.

I am part of the Fellowship of the Unashamed.

The die has been cast. I have stepped over the line. The decision has been made. I am a disciple of Jesus Christ. I won’t look back, let up, slow down, back away, or be still. My past is redeemed, my present makes sense, and my future is secure. I am finished and done with low living, sight walking, small planning, smooth knees, colorless dreams, chintzy giving, and dwarfed goals. I no longer need pre-eminence, prosperity, position, promotions, plaudits, or popularity. I now live by presence, lean by faith, love by patience, lift by prayer, and labor by power. My pace is set, my gait is fast, my goal is Heaven, my road is narrow, my way is rough, my companions few, my Guide reliable, my mission clear. I cannot be bought, compromised, deterred, lured away, turned back, diluted, or delayed. I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice, hesitate in the presence of adversity, negotiate at the table of the enemy, ponder at the pool of popularity, or meander in the maze of mediocrity. I am a disciple of Jesus Christ. I must go until He returns, give until I drop, preach until all know, and work until He comes. And when He comes to get His own, He will have no problem recognizing me. My colors will be clear. (Author Unknown).

Click HERE to view a youtube video for The Fellowship of the Unashamed.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

