Rejoice Always Because Your Redeemer Lives

Rejoice Always Because Your Redeemer Lives:

“Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him…For I know that my Redeemer lives.” (Job 13:15; 19:25).

Do you praise God only in the good times, when everything is going all right? The Bible says, “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” (1 Thess. 5:18). God wants us to rejoice always and give thanks in everything. But how can we praise God when we are in the midst of a storm? Look at the example of Job. Here was a man who lost everything he owned – all of his possessions, his children, and even his health. Yet this man said, “Even if God was to kill me, I would still praise Him.” How could he say such a thing?  Job said, “For I know that my Redeemer lives.”  When you know in whom you have believed, and you know that your Saviour is alive, you can still rejoice, come hell or high water. No matter what storm I go through, yet I will trust Him. Yet I will praise Him. Why?  Because I know that my Redeemer Lives.

Today, you may be facing insurmountable difficulties. It may seem like there’s no hope, and there’s no way out. You might be facing the most challenging trials of your life. But you don’t have to give up. You don’t have to be quiet. You can choose to rejoice today. Why?  Because your Redeemer lives. He’s alive. Jesus “is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them” (Heb. 7:25).

Consider this story from the New Testament, about two great men of faith who were missionaries of the Most High God. They were travelling from city to city, preaching God’s Word, when they came to the city of Philippi. Look at what Paul and Silas did when trouble befell them…

“Now it happened, as we went to prayer, that a certain slave girl possessed with a spirit of divination met us, who brought her masters much profit by fortune-telling. This girl followed Paul and us, and cried out, saying, “These men are the servants of the Most High God, who proclaim to us the way of salvation.” And this she did for many days. But Paul, greatly annoyed, turned and said to the spirit, “I command you in the name of Jesus Christ to come out of her.” And he came out that very hour. But when her masters saw that their hope of profit was gone, they seized Paul and Silas and dragged them into the marketplace to the authorities… Then the multitude rose up together against them; and the magistrates tore off their clothes and commanded them to be beaten with rods. And when they had laid many stripes on them, they threw them into prison, commanding the jailer to keep them securely. Having received such a charge, he put them into the inner prison and fastened their feet in the stocks.

But at midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the prisoners were listening to them. Suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken; and immediately all the doors were opened and everyone’s chains were loosed. And the keeper of the prison, awaking from sleep and seeing the prison doors open, supposing the prisoners had fled, drew his sword and was about to kill himself. But Paul called with a loud voice, saying, “Do yourself no harm, for we are all here.” Then he called for a light, ran in, and fell down trembling before Paul and Silas. And he brought them out and said, “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?” So they said, “Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved, you and your household.” (Acts 16:16-31).

After being beaten and thrown into jail, did Paul and Silas start complaining? No. Even though their backs were bleeding, and their hands and feet were in chains, they started praying and praising. What they did that, God set them free. So allow me to leave you with this challenge. No matter what’s going on in your life today, rejoice in the Lord. “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.” (1 Cor. 15:18).

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rejoice Always Because Your Redeemer Lives

  1. Hi Chris thanks for message. I was angry at God because things are not going my way. Every time I think I am getting my kids back another Road Block. Now I need to get $6000.00 to pay for the Assessment. I only have $2000.00. I might as well give up on my kids. They want to come home to me and I want them home but one more Road Block, What did I do to deserve this. I Love You God, Please Help Me.

Leave a Reply

