Jesus and Me #2: Getting to Know Jesus Better

Jesus And Me #2 – Getting to Know Jesus Better:

“But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.” (2 Peter 3:18).

One of the most important things that we can do as Christians is to grow in the grace and knowledge of Jesus. At the kids camp I ran in 2002, our theme was “J.A.M: Jesus And Me.”  Our goal was to teach these children six important truths about who Jesus is, and about who we are in Him. The Bible says that the more we know Jesus, the more God’s grace and peace are multiplied to us in our lives (see 2 Peter 1:2). My prayer for you today is “that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, would give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him.” (Ephesians 1:17). Here’s a look at some of my teaching from this camp.

1.         THE FATHER OF JESUS IS MY CREATOR

“For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well.” (Psalm 139:13-14). One of the first and most important things we learn about God is that He is our Creator. The more we learn about God, the more we learn about ourselves as well. Because the Father of Jesus is my Creator, then that means “I am God’s special creation.” This is the first teaching topic we covered at our kid’s camp.

2.         JESUS IS MY SAVIOUR

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16). This is one of the most well known verses in the Bible, and with good reason. This Scripture teaches us that Jesus is the Saviour that God sent into the world, and if we believe in Jesus, then that means “I am God’s child and I am forgiven.”

3.         JESUS IS MY BEST FRIEND

“A man who has friends must himself be friendly, But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” (Proverbs 18:24). Who is this friend who will stick closer than a brother?  It is Jesus, of course. Hebrews 13:5 says, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Because Jesus is my Saviour, then that means “I am not alone. God will never leave me.”

4.         JESUS IS MY PROTECTOR

“He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.” (Psalm 91:1-2). “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” (2 Timothy 1:7). We live in a dark and troubled world, but because Jesus is my protector, then that means “I am not worried or afraid. God will take care of me.”

5.         JESUS IS MY LORD AND KING

Jesus said, “Whoever desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me.” (Mark 8:34). As Christians, not only is Jesus our Saviour, the one who forgives us of our sins, but He is also our Lord. Because He is the King of the Universe, then that means “I am His obedient servant.”

6.         JESUS IS MY BAPTISER IN THE HOLY SPIRIT

“this is He who baptizes with the Holy Spirit.” (John 1:33). “But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to Me.” (Acts 1:8). Finally, Jesus is my baptiser in the Holy Spirit. When I am filled with the Holy Spirit, then that means “I am His bold witness.”

I hope you’ve been encouraged and challenged as we’ve taken a very brief look at who Jesus is. There’s so much more that could be said about Jesus. “His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” (Isaiah 9:6). May you spend your whole life seeking to grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

