Jesus and Me #1: The Father of Jesus is My Creator

Jesus and Me #1:  The Father of Jesus is my Creator:

“For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well.” (Psalm 139:13-14).

On July 2nd, 2002, when I was the Christian Education Director at Bible Fellowship Church in Surrey, BC, I took a group of 30 children and 8 counselors up to Chilliwack Lake Camp for our church’s summer kid’s camp. Our theme for our camp was J.A.M. – Jesus And Me. My goal for that camp was to teach those children two important truths from the Bible – one is who Jesus is, and the other is who they are in Him. We spent the week looking at how the Father of Jesus is our Creator. Jesus is our Saviour, Best Friend, Protector, Lord and King, and Baptiser in the Holy Spirit. I want to share with you what I taught them in my first session. It’s an encouraging truth from God’s Word that I believe will bless all of God’s children. The Father of Jesus is My Creator. That means that I am a special and unique creation of God.

In Genesis 1:27, the Bible says, “So God created man in His own image.”  Every human being that has ever lived or will ever live is a special, unique creation of God. The Bible also says, “You guided my conception and formed me in the womb. You clothed me with skin and flesh, and you knit my bones and sinews together. You gave me life and showed me your unfailing love. My life was preserved by your care.” (Job 10:10-12). What an encouraging truth! You and I are not accidents. We are not the product of millions or billions of years of evolution. We are the special and unique creations of an Almighty God.

What does this mean to us? Well, the Psalmist David said, “I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” Because the Father of Jesus is our Creator, because He has made us, this should motivate us to praise Him. “For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” (Eph. 2:10). Wow! We are His workmanship. The New Living Translation of that verse says we are His masterpiece. Think about it. God, our Creator, is an artistic genius, and we are His masterpieces. “When I look at the night sky and see the work of your fingers – the moon and the stars you have set in place – what are mortals that you should think of us, mere humans that you should care for us?” (Psalm 8:3-4).

What is the sum of everything we have looked at today? If it is true that the Father of Jesus is our Creator (and it is), then that means that we His special and unique creations. Don’t ever think that you’re a loser, or nobody special, or just an accident. As someone said once, “God doesn’t make garbage.” You may not like your height, or your weight, or your hair colour, or some other feature about yourself. But here’s an encouraging thought – you are exactly the way that God intended you to be. So rejoice with who you are. Don’t try to be someone else. There’s only one you in the world, and that’s who God wants you to be. “How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God. How great is the sum of them. If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand; When I awake, I am still with You.” (Psalm 139:17-18).

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

