Do You Want to See the Lord?

Do You Want to See the Lord?

“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.”  (Matthew 5:8).

There’s an old worship song that really expresses my heart’s desire:

  • In the secret, in the quiet place, in the stillness you are there.
  • In the secret, in the quiet hour I wait, only for you, ‘cause I want to know you more
  • I want to know you, I want to hear your voice, I want to know you more
  • I want to touch you, I want to see your face, I want to know you more
  • I am reaching for the highest goal, that I might receive the prize
  • Pressing onward, pushing every hindrance aside, out of my way cause I want to know you more

My number one desire – the driving passion of my life – is to get to know Jesus better. “For my determined purpose is that I may know Him (that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly).” (Phil. 3:10; Amplified Bible). I want to know Him better. I want to hear His voice and see His face. I want to push every hindrance aside that would keep me from knowing Him better. How do we do that? How can we as mortal human beings experience a deep and intimate relationship with a holy, Almighty God?

Consider these words of the sweet Psalmist of Israel, David: “Who may climb the mountain of the Lord? Who may stand in his holy place? Only those whose hands and hearts are pure, who do not worship idols, and never tell lies. They will receive the Lord’s blessing, and have right standing with God their saviour. They alone may enter God’s presence, and worship the God of Israel.” (Psalm 24:2-5).

Do you want to see the Lord? The Bible says that God blesses those whose hearts are pure by revealing Himself to them. Do you want to climb the Lord’s mountain, and stand in His holy place? You must have pure hands and hearts if you want to receive this blessing. But what does it mean to be pure? How can we, those who are naturally sinful, ever hope to stand in the presence of a pure and holy God? Here are some thoughts to consider about purity.

1.         PURITY IS A GIFT FROM GOD:

“God alone made it possible for you to be in Christ Jesus. For our benefit God made Christ to be wisdom itself. He is the one who made us acceptable to God. He made us pure and holy, and he gave himself to purchase our freedom.” (1 Corinthians 1:30). If you are a Christian, then you have already been made pure, washed clean by the blood of Jesus.

2.         PURITY IS A CHOICE:

“Do not participate in the sins of others. Keep yourself pure.” (1 Timothy 5:22). Not only do we have a positional purity because of what Jesus did for us, but we also keep ourselves pure by choosing to walk free from sin. Every day we can make a choice to be pure – in our thoughts, our words, and our actions. “Run from anything that stimulates youthful lust. Follow anything that makes you want to do right. Pursue faith and love and peace, and enjoy the companionship of those who call on the Lord with pure hearts.” (2 Timothy 2:22). Some people think, “I could never be pure – sin comes too easy for me.”  With God’s help, purity IS possible.

3.         PURITY DOESN‘T MEAN PERFECTION:

“If we say we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and refusing to accept the truth. But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us and to cleanse us from every wrong.” (1 John 1:8-9). A final encouraging word about purity. A person doesn’t have to be perfect to be pure. As long as we’re living on this sin cursed Earth, we’re going to struggle with sin, and miss God’s standard of perfection. To be pure in heart simply means that, by God‘s grace, I will live a life that pleases my Heavenly Father. If you sin, then be quick to confess it to God, and be forgiven. “My dear children, I am writing this to you so that you will not sin. But if you do sin, there is someone to plead for you before the Father. He is Jesus Christ, the one who pleases God completely. He is the sacrifice for our sins.” (1 John 2:1-2). Let’s seek after purity so we can see God. Amen!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

