I Found a Treasure

I Found a Treasure:

“The Kingdom of Heaven is like a treasure that a man discovered hidden in a field. In his excitement, he hid it again and sold everything he owned to get enough money to buy the field – and to get the treasure, too. Again, the Kingdom of Heaven is like a pearl merchant on the lookout for choice pearls. When he discovered a pearl of great value, he sold everything he owned and bought it.” (Matthew 13:44-46).

When I was in junior high school, my best friend Robert and I wanted to be marine biologists when we grew up. The idea of exploring the deep blue sea was enticing to me. To go diving off the Great Barrier Reef in Australia – swimming with the sharks and whales and manatees – what a rush that would be! However, when I got into senior high school, I was bitten by the acting bug. Through school plays and musicals, I enjoyed the thrill of performing a role before my family and friends. As I neared graduation, I had every intention of pursuing a career in acting. The summer after I graduated from high school, I got involved in a community drama troupe called the Regina Summer Stage, and performed in a Gilbert & Sullivan musical production called The Pirates of Penzance. I was ready to head to Hollywood.

But something happened in September of 1990 when I encountered the Lord in a dynamic, life-changing way. The Lord Jesus Christ became so real to me during that time period, that everything I had planned to do with my life up to that point seemed so small and insignificant. I found a treasure! I discovered that there was a God who loved me so much that He sent His Son Jesus to die on the Cross for my sins, to save me and set me free. He gave me such a peace and joy and hope in my life, and I knew immediately that I had to tell others about this wonderful treasure. And that’s when I made the decision to enter into full time ministry. I knew that I would never be satisfied or fulfilled in life unless I devoted my entire life to pointing others to Jesus, so that they could find the freedom that I found in Him. Like the Apostle Paul said, “But my life is worth nothing unless I use it for doing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus – the work of telling others the Good News about God’s wonderful kindness and love.” (Acts 20:24).

When I started writing these daily devotionals, I had one goal in mind – to help you to get connected with the living God, and His Word. I can’t make you have an experience with God. I can’t make you hear His voice or see His face. I can’t save you, and I can’t make you grow spiritually. But what I’ve been endeavouring to do is to tell you about the wonderful treasure I’ve found, and hopefully light a spark within you, that has motivated you to seek after this awesome God for yourself. JESUS is the TREASURE – He’s all you’ll ever need and once you’ve tasted of His goodness, He’ll be all you’ll ever want. “And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13). Jesus is the Treasure – the Pearl of Great Value – you‘re looking for. Nothing else will satisfy. Seek Him with all your heart today!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

