The Holy Spirit #4 – His Power

The Holy Spirit #4 – His Power (To Make Jesus Known):

“But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you shall be witnesses to Me…” (Acts 1:8).

In August of 1989 when I became a Christian, I never told anyone about the change in my life at first. I believe I was truly born again, and had made a decision in my heart to follow Jesus, but I didn’t want anyone to know about it. I was afraid of what people would think of me. And so, for the first year after I got saved, I was an “undercover” Christian. I loved Jesus in private, when no one else was around, but never in public. But something happened in September of 1990 that would radically change my life forever – I would never be the same again.

In September of 1990, I took a trip from my home in small town Saskatchewan to a farmhouse outside of Lacombe, Alberta to visit my friend Jerrold, the young man who had led me to the Lord. During my stay there, he started telling me about a wonderful gift that God had for me that would help me to be a bold witness for Jesus – the baptism of the Holy Spirit. “What’s the Holy Spirit?” I asked. That’s when he took me to the book of Acts, and showed me the above Scripture. Jesus said that when the Holy Spirit came upon me, I would receive power to be a witness for Jesus – to tell other people about Him. Wow – that’s what I needed! “What do I need to do?” I asked. That’s when he showed me the words of Jesus as recorded in Luke 11:13, “How much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him.”  Now that sounded pretty simple to me – all I had to do was ask. So, on September 29th, 1990, I prayed a prayer that went something like this, “Heavenly Father, you promised to give the Holy Spirit to those who would ask you. You said the Holy Spirit would give me power to be a witness for you. Lord, fill me with the Holy Spirit, and give me boldness to live my life totally committed to you.” That night, I received the baptism of the Holy Spirit, and I received a new boldness to witness for Jesus that I never had before.

God is no respecter of persons. What He did for me, He’ll do for you. Do you need more boldness in your Christian life, to be a witness for Jesus?  Then you need the baptism of the Holy Spirit. Look at the difference the Holy Spirit made in my life. Look at the difference the Holy Spirit made in the life of the disciple Peter, too. Before he was filled with the Holy Spirit in Acts Chapter Two, Peter denied knowing Jesus three times. But after He received the baptism of the Holy Spirit, he became a new man. His new-found boldness drove him out into the crowded city streets where he preached to thousands of people, and 3,000 people gave their hearts to Jesus that day.

How do you receive this gift from God? First of all, this gift is for God’s children – those who have been adopted into God’s family. When Peter preached in Acts 2:38, he said you must first, “turn from your sins and turn to God, and be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. Then you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. This promise is to…all who have been called by the Lord our God.” If you’re a Christian, then the gift of the Holy Spirit is for you. All you have to do is ask. Pray a prayer right now and believe that the Lord will baptize you with the Holy Spirit. You can pray something like this:

“Heavenly Father, please fill me with the Holy Spirit. Give me the power I need to be a witness for You. I receive this gift right now, in the name of Jesus.”

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

