Pass It On

Pass it on: 

“You have heard me teach many things that have been confirmed by many reliable witnesses. Teach these great truths to trustworthy people who are able to pass them on to others.” (2 Timothy 2:2).

What do you do with your daily e-mail devotions when you receive them? Do you read it and immediately send it to the trash bin? I know that’s what I do with many e-mails I receive, but when one of them really encourages or challenges me, I will usually forward it on to my friends. I believe this is a Scriptural principle, too. The Apostle Paul told his protégé Timothy to take the truths that he had learned from Paul and share them with other people, who can then turn around and pass them on to others, and so on, and so on, and so on. This is one of the ways that God has designed for His truth to be known.

“I will teach you hidden lessons from our past—stories we have heard and know, stories our ancestors handed down to us. We will not hide these truths from our children but will tell the next generation about the glorious deeds of the Lord. We will tell of his power and the mighty miracles he did. For he issued his decree to Jacob; he gave his law to Israel. He commanded our ancestors to teach them to their children, so the next generation might know them—even the children not yet born—that they in turn might teach their children. So each generation can set its hope anew on God, remembering his glorious miracles and obeying his commands.” (Psalm 78:2-7).

God desires that we would pass on the stories of His mighty deeds to our children and the generations to come, so they might set their hope on God, remembering His miracles, and obeying His commands. Do you know that we are living in the first generation of all history where people are growing up without any general knowledge about the existence of God? When your parents went to school (or maybe your grandparents), their teachers instilled within them the belief in the Lord God Almighty, maker of Heaven and Earth. But today, almost all references to God have been removed from the public schools.

What I’m saying here is that there are many people who don’t know the goodness of God. Maybe you have friends at school or at work, or members of your family, who don’t know God. If you don’t tell them, then who will? I thank God that my friend Jerrold Lewis had the boldness to tell me about Jesus – he shared the Gospel of Jesus Christ with me, and I became a Christian. Ever since then, I have been telling everyone I know about God and His love. My friends, my family – everyone I know. Why? Because I recognize God has given me a responsibility to share with others the things that I have learned. Besides, God has been so good to me, I can’t help myself! His Word is like a fire shut up in my bones, and I have to let it out.

So I ask you again – what do you do with your daily e-mail devotions when you receive them? If one of these devotionals touches your heart, or you can think of someone who would be encouraged or blessed by the message, then send it on to them. Don’t keep silent! There are people in your life that only you can reach, and if you don’t tell them about Jesus, who will? And to those of you who read the devotionals right on the blog, e-mail the link, reblog it, tweet it, or post it on your facebook timeline!

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

