Come and See #3: The 7 I Am Claims of Jesus

The Seven I Am Claims of Jesus:

  1. “I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.” (John 6:35). Jesus is the one who satisfies our souls. Throughout all of history, mankind has been on a quest for happiness and satisfaction. People look to everything from drugs and alcohol and sexual relationships to try to find fulfillment in life. Jesus says, “Don’t waste your time – I am the bread of life! Come to me and I will satisfy that deep hunger and thirst that you have in your heart.”
  2. “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” (John 8:12). Jesus is the one who gives us direction in life. Not only does Jesus fulfill the deep needs of our soul, He is also the one who brings light. We are living in a dark world, where so many people are lost and confused. Jesus brings light, direction, guidance and purpose to our lives.
  3. “I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture.” (John 10:9). Jesus is the one who saves us: He is the Saviour of the world. When we believe in Him, He is the doorway to experiencing the abundant, eternal life that He has made available for us.
  4. “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives His life for the sheep.” (John 10:11). Jesus is the one who cares for and meets our needs, and ultimately died on the Cross for us. This statement reminds us of Psalm 23 where David said, “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul.” Jesus is our Good Shepherd.
  5. “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live.” (John 11:25). This statement is from the story of Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead. As Jesus approached Lazarus’ tomb, He said, “Roll away the stone!” but Martha said, “He’s been in the tomb for four days – he stinks!” They rolled away the stone, and Jesus cried out, “Lazarus, come forth!” and He raised him from the dead. In the same way, Jesus is the one who raises us to new life. The Bible says, “But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He will also give life to your mortal bodies.” (Romans 8:11). Amen!
  6. “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6). Here Jesus declares that He is the only way to Heaven. Now this isn’t a very politically correct Scripture. There is a popular philosophy in the world today that says, “All roads lead to God. It doesn’t matter what you believe as long as you are sincere.” That’s a ridiculous statement because you can be sincere and be sincerely wrong. The Bible says, “Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved” (Acts 4:12). I know I’ll get into trouble for preaching this truth, but I will proclaim it all the same. People say, “That’s kind of narrow-minded thinking.” Yes it is. Jesus said, “Narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.” (Matthew 7:14). I would not be a compassionate person if I didn’t tell you this truth. If I said, “If you don’t like Jesus, you can try another way to Heaven: Buddha, Mohamed, it doesn’t matter. You can lick a New Age crystal if you want – pick your own path to Heaven!” If you try to get to Heaven without Jesus as your Saviour, you will hear the Father say, “Depart from me, for I never knew you.” As Christians, we need to believe the whole Bible, even if it isn’t a popular truth.
  7. “I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5). Jesus is a beautiful vine, and when our lives are vitally connected to Him – when we abide in Jesus in prayer, communing with God, abiding in His Word and His Word is abiding in us – then we become fruitful branches – juicy fruit Christians. We need more fruit bearing Christians in the church, filled with the fruit of the Spirit – love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. There are too many Christians that are angry and upset all the time, sour-puss faced saints. When we abide in Jesus, then the life of God that’s in Him flows into our lives. Then people will say, “That’s what your God is like? I want to know that God.” When we taste and see of His goodness, and His goodness flows out of our lives, we become attractive to the world, and then they will want to know Jesus.

Continued tomorrow…

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in book, devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

