What Must I Do To Be Saved?

What Must I Do To Be Saved?: 

“Then he called for a light, ran in, and fell down trembling before Paul and Silas. And he brought them out and said, Sirs, what must I do to be saved?  So they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved, you and your household.” (Acts 16:29-31).

The Philippian jailer in Acts 16 asked a really good question. “What must I do to be saved?” The answer is so important that it will determine your eternal destiny. There is no better question or topic that we could look at then the one that is before us: What must I do to be saved? There are important principles that a person must know before they can be saved, and they are all found in the book of Romans. Many people call this the “Roman Road.”

ALL PEOPLE ARE SINNERS.

“For all have sinned; all fall short of God’s glorious standard.” (Romans 3:23).

The Bible says, “No one has real understanding; no one is seeking God. All have turned away from God; all have gone wrong. No one does good, not even one.” (Romans 3:11-12). Every human being in the history of the world is guilty of being a sinner.

ALL SINNERS DESERVE TO GO TO HELL.

“For the wages of sin is death.” (Romans 6:23).

I know this isn’t a popular message, but it’s the truth of the Bible. Everyone is a sinner, and the wages – or punishment – for our sins is death, eternal separation from God in a place called hell. Now that we’ve looked at the BAD news – let’s look at God’s GOOD NEWS…

SALVATION IS A FREE GIFT FROM GOD.

“…but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord.”  (Romans 6:23b).

No one could be good enough to earn their way to Heaven. The only way to get to Heaven by good works is to obey all the commandments in the Bible perfectly for your entire life. However, God knew that was impossible. John 3:16 says, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life.”

YOU MUST PERSONALLY RECEIVE GOD’S GIFT.

“For if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” (Romans 10:9).

What must I do to be saved?  If you want to become a Christian – to be saved from your sins, here’s what you must do. Recognize that you are a sinner, and that because of your sins, you deserve to go to hell. Then believe that “God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.” (Romans 5:8). If you will call upon the name of the Lord today, and trust Jesus to forgive you of your sins, you will be saved. If you don’t know for sure that when you die you’re going to go to Heaven, pray this prayer right now:

Heavenly Father, I believe that I am a sinner, and I know that I deserve to go to hell. However, I also believe that you sent Jesus to die on the Cross to take my punishment for me. I ask Jesus to come into my life, to be my Lord and Saviour. I believe that Jesus is the Son of God, and that He died, and rose again from the dead for me. Forgive me of my sins, and wash me totally clean. I make a decision to follow you, Jesus, and thank you for adopting me into Your family. In Jesus’ name, amen.

If you just prayed that prayer, and meant it from your heart, you’ve been born again. God has saved you from your sins, adopted you into His family, and accepted you in the beloved. Three of the most important things you can now begin to do are to pray to God daily, read your Bible, and go to church. If you want more information about what it means to be a Christian, and how to follow Jesus, contact me, and I would be glad to help you anyway I can.

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

