Are You Tired and Worn Out?

Are You Tired and Worn Out?: 

“Then Jesus said, Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke fits perfectly, and the burden I give you is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30).

Do you ever feel like the weight of the world is on your shoulders? Do you ever feel so heavily burdened by the load that you’re carrying, that you feel like you don’t have the strength to carry on? Do you ever feel like the problems that you carry are like the crushing weight of a mountain that could collapse upon you any day? Then today’s message is for you. Today’s message is for me. There is a place we can go to find rest for our weary souls.

I like the Message Bible’s translation of the above Scripture. “Jesus said, Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me – watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” This is an encouraging word for those of us living in the 20th Century! Has there ever been a generation of people that has ever lived, that has been more tired and worn-out than our fast paced society? I don’t know if there has been.

I remember chatting online once with one of the students who had previously attended our youth group. He moved to Mexico to work with his uncle at an internet café. He said that the pace of life there is so much slower than it is here in Canada. He told me that whenever he’s chatting with his Canadian friends, they are always so busy, saying, “I have to go now” to do this thing or that thing. I told him that I envy that lifestyle – it’s so hard to slow down and rest in Canada. Like Charles Swindoll said in his book, Intimacy with the Almighty, “The church today looks more like a herd of cattle on a stampede, then a flock of God, resting by still waters.”

I said that today’s message is as much for me (probably more so) as it is for you. If you are tired and worn out, if you are weary and heavy burdened, come to Jesus today. Why would you choose to carry a burden heavier than you can handle, when there’s someone standing right here who says, “I will take that for you?” It’s true. First Peter 5:7 says, “Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about what happens to you.”

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever.” (Psalm 23).

Lord, slow us down today. Make us lie down in the green pastures of Your presence. Help us to not be so busy that we become overwhelmed, stressed out and frustrated. You have given us a wonderful invitation to come to you today. Lord, right now by faith we cast our cares – our burdens, worries and anxieties – upon you, because we believe that you care for us. Refresh your people today, and give us the strength that we need to live freely and lightly – the way you intended us to live. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

