Could God Use Someone Who Stutters?

Could God Use Someone Who Stutters?: 

“O Lord, I’m just not a good speaker. I never have been, and I’m not now, even after you have spoken to me. I’m clumsy with words.” (Exodus 4:10).

One of my purposes as a pastor is to help people discover their ministry and develop their spiritual gifts. I strongly believe that every Christian is called to be a minister – not just the pastor. First Peter 4:10 says, “God has given gifts to each of you from his great variety of spiritual gifts. Manage them well so that God’s generosity can flow through you.” That tells me that EVERY believer has a gift from God – something that they can do well. God wants us to be good stewards of our gifts, and use them so that God’s love and grace can flow through us, and encourage one another.

Here’s just a brief look at some of the different gifts that God has placed within the church:

“God has given each of us the ability to do certain things well. So if God has given you the ability to prophesy, speak out when you have faith that God is speaking through you. If your gift is that of serving others, serve them well. If you are a teacher, do a good job of teaching. If your gift is to encourage others, do it. If you have money, share it generously. If God has given you leadership ability, take the responsibility seriously. And if you have a gift for showing kindness to others, do it gladly.” (Romans 12:6-8).

Now, some of you might say, “I don’t know if I have a gift or not. And even if I do, I don’t know if I could use it well. I could never do anything great for God.” If that’s you, then be encouraged by today’s Scripture. Many generations ago, God called a man to do something great for Him and he responded by saying, “O Lord, I’m just not a good speaker. I never have been, and I’m not now, even after you have spoken to me. I’m clumsy with words.” Before I tell you who made that statement, look at some of the other excuses he gave to God, “Look, they won’t believe me. They won’t do what I tell them. They’ll just say, ‘The LORD never appeared to you…Lord, please. Send someone else.” Who was this great man of faith and power? None other than the great deliverer, Moses.

Wow! Who would have thought that one of the greatest heroes of our faith had doubts and insecurities about doing what God called him to do? He wasn’t a good speaker – he stuttered, he was afraid of the people, and at first he said, “Lord, please. Send someone else.” Does that sound familiar? Have you ever said those words to God? If so, then I pray that the words the Lord used to encourage Moses would encourage you as well today. “Then God told him, I will be with you…Who makes mouths? Who makes people so they can speak or not speak, hear or not hear, see or not see? Is it not I, the LORD? Now go, and do as I have told you. I will help you speak well, and I will tell you what to say.” (Exodus 3:12; 4:11-12).

Could God use someone who stutters? He not only can, but He has. And God will use you, too. It doesn’t matter what gifts you feel you may or may not have, or how good you think you can use them. God isn’t concerned about your ability so much as your availability. As a preacher said once, “It’s not the golden vessels, or the silver vessels, but the willing vessels that the Lord wants to use.” Are you willing and available to be used by God today?

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Could God Use Someone Who Stutters?

  1. Aloysius says:

    I’m blessed by your write up.

Leave a Reply

