You are God’s Treasure – An Amazing Thought!

You are God‘s Treasure – An Amazing Thought: 

“When I look at the night sky and see the work of your fingers – the moon and the stars you have set in place – what are mortals that you should think of us, mere humans that you should care for us?” (Psalm 8:3-4).

What an amazing thought: The God who created the universe – who is omnipotent, omnipresent and omniscient (those are fancy words that mean He is All-powerful, All-present, and All-knowing) – thinks of us, with thoughts of love. It just staggers the mind. Consider the words of the Psalmist in another place…

“You have searched me and known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down, And are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word on my tongue, But behold, O Lord, You know it altogether. You have hedged me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; It is high, I cannot attain it…For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well…How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God. How great is the sum of them. If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand.” (Psalm 139).

What a wonderful Psalm, full of amazing and encouraging truths. God knows everything about us, and He still loves us. His loving hand is upon us. He made each of us a wonderfully unique and special creation. You’re not an accident. God chose you, and created you – and His thoughts towards you are so precious and great. Perhaps the words to this Psalm seem distant to you and the world you live in. If that’s the case, then let me share with you a song that was loosely based upon the truth of this Psalm, called “The Treasure of You.” It’s about how you are God’s special treasure, and He’s crazy about you. May these words encourage you!

TREASURE OF YOU – BY STEVEN CURTIS CHAPMAN

Excuse me, I couldn’t help but notice, That heartsick look in your eyes
You hide it very well, but I’ve got the same disguise
I know from all you see around you, You feel worth a very small price
So plain and ordinary, but there’s a pearl inside

And if you look in the mirror in the light of the truth, You’ll see there’s really nothing you could say or do, To make you worth more to the One who made you

You are a treasure, Worth more than anything under the sun or the moon
God’s greatest treasure, Is the treasure of you

The rich man treasures gold and silver, The wise man, his knowledge of truth
Some will hold to memories, and some will cling to youth
But the one who carved out the oceans, And painted the stars in the sky
You are His prized creation, the apple of His eye
There’s no one else in the world who could take your place, Just the thought of you brings a smile to His face, God loves you with amazing grace

So take a look in the mirror in the light of the truth Oh, yes it’s true
See there’s nothing more you can say or do God loves the way He created you

From the T to the R to the E to the A to the S to the U to the R to the E
God made everything and of everything He made More than anything He treasures you and me
Check it in the mirror in the light of the truth, There is nothing you will ever say and nothing you will do, That will ever make God care more than He does for the treasure God’s treasure is you

(© 2002. All rights reserved. from the Album: Heaven In The Real World)

My favourite line in the song is, “There’s no one else in the world who could take your place, Just the thought of you brings a smile to His face, God loves you with amazing grace.” Think about those words, and may they encourage you today.

To listen to the Steven Curtis Chapman song on youtube, click HERE.

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

