We are the Fatherless

We are the Fatherless: 

  • Can’t trust no one, so I attack. You better watch your step, you better watch your back.
  • No I’m not scared I just push on. It’s a ragged gang, and it’s where I belong.
  • And I’m not, no I’m not, gonna let them hurt me again. Can you hear our cry?
  • Do you want the truth? We’re on the loose. We’re telling you. We are the Fatherless. (1)

SHOCKING STATISTICS:

  • 1) 43% of (North American) children live without their father
  • 2) 90% of homeless and runaway children are from fatherless homes.
  • 3) 80% of rapists motivated with displaced anger come from fatherless homes.
  • 4) 71% of pregnant teenagers lack a father.
  • 5) 63% of youth suicides are from fatherless homes.
  • 6) 85% of children who exhibit behavioral disorders come from fatherless homes.
  • 7) 71% of high school dropouts come from fatherless homes.
  • 8) 75% of adolescent patients in chemical abuse centers come from fatherless homes.
  • 9) 85% of youths in prisons grew up in a fatherless home.
  • 10) Fatherless boys and girls are: twice as likely to drop out of high school; twice as likely to end up in jail; four times more likely to need help for emotional or behavioral problems. (2)

We are living in a fatherless society. Almost half of the children in North America grow up without a dad. That means more children are going to run away from home, end up pregnant, dropping out of high school, end up in prison, or worse, committing suicide. These aren’t just statistics – we’re talking about real children, here. As a young child, I grew up without a father (until my mom remarried when I was 10 years old). Maybe you are one of the fatherless. Maybe your dad abandoned you and your family. Maybe he passed away. Whatever the reason, you don’t have a dad, to fulfill a vitally important role in your life. If so, today’s devotional is for you.

“Sing praises to God and to his name. Sing loud praises to him who rides the clouds. His name is the LORD – rejoice in his presence. Father to THE FATHERLESS, defender of widows – this is God, whose dwelling is holy. God places the lonely in families; he sets the prisoners free and gives them joy.” (Psalm 68:4-6).

What a wonderful promise from the Bible. God’s Word says that He is a father to the fatherless, and that He places the lonely in families. He sets prisoners free, and gives them joy. Today, you may feel like you’re in a prison of loneliness – unloved, alone, and afraid. Be encouraged. God wants to be a Father to you. He longs for you to climb up onto his lap and allow Him to pour out His love upon you. I remember one time back in 2003 when I was reading the Bible and praying with my children, I began to pray for my children individually, and my oldest son Caleb, who was 5 at the time, climbed up onto my lap, and I prayed a special blessing for him. As I finished praying for him, my daughter Victoria who was four said, “Me too, daddy?” She wanted to climb up in her daddy’s lap and have him pray a special blessing for her, too. So I prayed for my Heavenly Father to bless my daughter. When I was done praying for her – yep, you guessed it – my two-year old son Austin said, “Me too, daddy?” So, I prayed a special blessing over my youngest son, too.

The Bible tells this story: “One day some parents brought their children to Jesus so he could touch them and bless them, but the disciples told them not to bother him. But when Jesus saw what was happening, he was very displeased with his disciples. He said to them, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them. For the Kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I assure you, anyone who doesn’t have their kind of faith will never get into the Kingdom of God.” Then he took the children into his arms and placed his hands on their heads and blessed them.” (Mark 10:13-16). Come to your Heavenly Father today with simple child-like faith and trust, and allow Him to fill your hearts with His love. You don’t have to be fatherless anymore. “But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God.” (John 1:12).

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

* * *

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We are the Fatherless

  1. Lloyd Lewis says:

    Very good and needful post Pastor Chris….how we need to pray for our christian fathers especially those within my own household and for all fathers that they will see the need to be faithful to the sacred calling of fatherhood. Thanks ( I do thank God for my son and sons in law….they are good fathers)

    • Chris Jordan says:

      Thanks for the response, Lloyd… may the Lord help all of us as Christian fathers to be godly men who are faithful to love our wives and train up our children in the way they should go. Amen…

Leave a Reply

