I’m a Child of the King

I’m a Child of the King: 

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love, having predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will, to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He has made us accepted in the Beloved.” (Ephesians 1:3-6).

“God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us…For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” (Ephesians 2:4,10).

In March of 2001, I went down to Tijuana, Mexico as a leader with the mission team from Regent Christian Academy. We were partnering with Amor Ministries to build homes for two needy families, and it was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I know what Jesus meant when He said, “It is more blessed to give than to receive” (Acts 20:35). While we were on this trip, I was assigned the task of coming up with a daily devotional plan for the team, and my suggestion was that we read through the book of Ephesians. As I read through Ephesians on my own, I was stirred up and greatly encouraged by what I was learning about God‘s love, so much that I was inspired to write a song. I am not a musical person, nor am I a poet, and you won’t hear it on the radio anytime soon, but the lyrics to this song express my heart’s understanding of and appreciation for the truths found in the first two chapters of Ephesians. Here they are…

I’M A CHILD OF THE KING:

Lord, you have adopted me into your family

Lord, from all of my sins and failures you have set me free

Accepted in the beloved, forever I will sing

To the praise of the glory of Your grace, I’m a child of the King

I’m a child of the King, what an awesome thing

That the God who made the universe has chosen me

I’m a child of the King, praise be to the Father

The God who’s great in love, and rich in mercy

Lord, we are your workmanship, created in Christ Jesus

To do good works, that you had planned before

Lord, we want to be like you, and live to give you glory

And every day, to get to know you more

Today, I want to encourage you to simply meditate on – to think about – the wonderful truths contained in those Bible verses in Ephesians. If you are a Christian, then the Bible says that God has adopted you into His family. He has set you free from all of your sins and failures, and you are now accepted in the beloved. Doesn’t that make you want to praise Him with singing and shouting? We are children of the King, and if you understand what that means, I’m sure you would agree that this is an awesome thing. The God who made the universe CHOSE US. God is great in love, and rich in mercy. “So you should not be like cowering, fearful slaves. You should behave instead like God’s very own children, adopted into his family – calling him “Abba, Father.” For his Holy Spirit speaks to us deep in our hearts and tells us that we are God’s children. And since we are his children, we will share his treasures – for everything God gives to his Son, Christ, is ours, too.” (Romans 8:15-17).

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

