One Thing – Sitting at His Feet

One Thing – Sitting at His Feet: 

“ONE THING I have desired of the Lord, That will I seek: That I may dwell in the house of the Lord All the days of my life, To behold the beauty of the Lord, And to inquire in His temple.” (Psalm 27:4).

I was sitting down one night many years ago, watching TV with my family, and my daughter Tori – who was three at the time – leaned over and kissed me on the cheek, and she said, “And you didn’t even ask me.” That meant so much to me! What a joy it is for me as a father, when my children take a break from their toys and games, to climb up into my lap, or sit down beside me, and tell me that they love me, or give me a kiss or a hug. I’m sure it must make our Heavenly Father feel the same way when we take the time to “climb up into His lap” and spend time with Him in prayer. Not to ask Him for things. Not to complain about our day. But just to be with Him. I think that’s what David was talking about in the above Psalm. He said ONE THING is important to me. More than anything else, I want to know God more. What’s the ONE THING that’s the driving force and passion in YOUR life?  Read this story…

“Now it happened as they went that Jesus entered a certain village; and a certain woman named Martha welcomed Him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word. But Martha was distracted with much serving, and she approached Him and said, Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Therefore tell her to help me. And Jesus answered and said to her, Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But ONE THING is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:38-42).

Here are two women, Mary and Martha, who were good friends with Jesus. The two of them and their brother Lazarus would have Jesus over to their house frequently (see John 11:1-44 & 12:1-2). It was a day like any other. Jesus was coming over for dinner. While Martha fired up the barbecue, and cleaned the house, and set the table, Mary just sat in the living room at the feet of Jesus, listening to Him speak. After a while, Martha got angry with her sister and came to Jesus and said, “Jesus, I’m doing all the work. Tell Mary to help me.” But notice how Jesus replied. He said, “Martha, you’re so busy working, but you’ve missed the most important thing – the ONE THING that’s necessary. Mary has chosen to do that – to sit at my feet, and listen to me.”

I must confess that there have been many times since I became a Christian that I had become so busy and distracted in the service of my Lord that I forgot the simple joy and refreshing peace that comes from simply sitting at His feet. I had become so busy doing things FOR Him, that I was neglecting spending time WITH Him. And many times, I’ve heard His loving voice calling me to stop being so busy, and come and sit at His feet. Jesus said to a church in Ephesus, “Nevertheless I have this against you, that you have left your first love.” (Rev. 2:4). Have you left your first love? Have you allowed other things in your life – even good things, like serving Him, come between you and your time at the feet of Jesus? Are you worried and troubled about many things? If so, then listen to the loving words of Jesus, calling you to return to your First Love. “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.” (Revelation 3:20).

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

