God’s Got a Tattoo of YOU!

God‘s Got a Tattoo of YOU:

“See, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands.” (Isaiah 49:16, NKJV).

I remember several years ago tucking my children into bed one night in after reading to them from our Beginner’s Bible, as was our regular daily practice when they were younger. Caleb was about five or six at the time, and I said to him as I helped him get all snuggled in under the blankets, “Have I told you lately that I love you?” I ask all my children that question often. He replied, “Yes, daddy. In fact, you must have told me about a thousand times that you love me. You’re the best daddy in the whole world.” That really warmed my heart! I’m so glad to know that my children know how much I love them.

Let me tell you about my children. Since Liza and I were married in 1995, the Lord has blessed us with four wonderful children. Caleb, our firstborn, turned 16 in 2012. He is in grade ten this year, he loves sports, and he is a natural born leader.Victoria, Tori for short, turned 14 this year. She loves to read and write, just like her dad.Austinwill turned 12 just before Christmas this year. He is full of energy, loves to jump on the trampoline, and he makes us laugh all the time. Our youngest child, Hannah, who is almost 10, loves to play the piano, and she is daddy’s little princess. What an amazing thought to know that, even though God has millions of children all over the world, He knows every one of us individually by name, and He knows everything about us.

If you were to look into my wallet right now, you would see that I have photos of all of my children. And not only are they in my wallet, all of my children are very dear to my heart. If our Heavenly Father had a wallet, guess what? There would be photographs of YOU in it. But since God doesn’t have a wallet, you know what the Bible says? God has a tattoo of you on His hand. Whether that is literal or metaphorical, the point is that you are always in His heart and thoughts. As a father, I would do anything to protect and provide for my children, and my desire is that all of them would know how much I love them. But God our Heavenly Father is so much more perfect and loving a Father than I am. Psalm 103:13 says, “The LORD is like a father to his children, tender and compassionate to those who fear him.” Matthew 7:11 says, “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him.”

What an awesome thing to know that God will NEVER leave us nor forsake us (Hebrews 13:5) and NOTHING can separate us from His love (Romans 8:35-39).

“But now, thus says the Lord, who created you, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you.” (Isaiah 43:1-3).

Meditate on this passage of Scripture in Isaiah 43, and everywhere you see the word YOU, insert your name instead, and be encouraged by God’s thoughts towards you. For example, “But now, thus says the Lord who created you, O Chris, and He who formed you, O Chris, Fear not, for I have redeemed Chris, I have called you Chris by your name, you are Mine.”

And never forget that God’s got a tattoo of YOU.

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. #Author. #Blogger. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God’s Got a Tattoo of YOU!

  1. Paula Frazier says:

    Wonderful analogies. Enjoyed reading it †

Leave a Reply

