Look What the Lord Has Done

Look What the Lord Has Done:

But Jesus said, “No, go home to your friends, and tell them what wonderful things the Lord has done for you and how merciful he has been.” (Mark 5:19).

Have you ever read through the Four Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John? They record the life and teachings, and the death and resurrection of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. It’s wonderful reading about “how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and with power, who went about doing good and healing all who were oppressed by the devil, for God was with Him.” (Acts 10:38). Since I became a Christian, I have endeavoured to read through the Gospels at least once a year. The above Scripture in Mark Chapter five is from an awesome story about how Jesus set free a man who had been possessed by a legion of demons. When Jesus was getting ready to leave after this incident, the man who had been demon possessed begged to go with Him. But Jesus said, “No, go home to your friends, and tell them what wonderful things the Lord has done for you.”

Do you remember the day you first encountered the amazing grace and love of the Lord Jesus Christ? I do. When I became a Christian, I couldn’t find enough people to tell about Jesus. I told my family, my friends – hey, I wouldn’t have preached to a dog if it would have stood still long enough! I was lost, but now I had been found. I was a sinner, but now I was saved. I was going to hell, but now I was on my way Heaven. The point is, God had been so good to me, I couldn’t keep quiet – I had to tell someone, “Look what the Lord has done!”

When I started following Jesus in the fall of 1990, I immediately felt the Lord was calling me to the full-time ministry of a pastor. A little over a year after becoming a Christian, I was attendingBibleCollege, preparing for the work of the ministry. Because God was so real to me, and He had made such a difference in my life, I would never be content to just “be a good little Christian” or “be religious.” If God was who He said He was, then I had to serve Him with my whole life. Now let me balance this out by saying I don’t believe that everyone is called to the full-time ministry. Notice that even though the demon possessed man wanted to follow Jesus like the 12 disciples, Jesus said no. But even though this man wasn’t called to the ministry, he was called by Jesus to go home to his friends and tell them what the Lord had done for him.

So, even if you aren’t called to be a pastor or a missionary, God has called you to share your testimony with your friends and family. Tell them what wonderful things the Lord has done for you. The last few words that Jesus spoke to His disciples before He ascended into Heaven are recorded in Mark 16:15-16: “And He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature. He who believes and is baptized will be saved; but he who does not believe will be condemned.” This is called The Great Commission – the commission that Jesus gives not only to the original disciples, but indeed to all who call themselves Christians. If the Lord has been good to you – then share that Gospel (Good News) with everyone you know, everywhere you go.

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

