Are You Weary?

ARE YOU WEARY?

“Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke fits perfectly, and the burden I give you is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30).

I’m not a morning person on the best of days – just let me have my shower, a cup of coffee, and everything will be alright. But one morning I was feeling exceptionally tired as I forced myself out of bed and into the shower. And as I stood in the shower (who knew divine revelation could happen there?) I thought of the above Scripture, and wondered how many people today would be feeling spiritually tired. Have you grown weary on the long journey home? Jesus never said that living the Christian life would be easy. In fact, He said, “I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33). But in the midst of the long road to Heaven, Jesus offers us this comfort: Are you weary and carrying a heavy burden? Then come to Jesus, and let Him give you rest. Here are two Scriptures to encourage you today…

1.         Jesus is a friend who will stick closer than a brother.

“A man who has friends must himself be friendly, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” (Proverbs 18:24)

You may have friends who will come and go in your life, but Jesus will always be by your side. The Bible also says, “For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5). What an encouraging word. In a world where friends come and go, it’s a relief to know that at least one person will always stand by your side – Jesus.

2.         Jesus is a friend who can help you with your problems.

Cast all your care upon Jesus, for He cares for you.” (1 Peter 5:7).

Not only will Jesus always be there for you, but He is a Friend who you can trust with all of your troubles. You can come to Jesus and tell Him your problems, and know that He loves you, He cares about you, and He has the power to help you. Why carry all of your burdens by yourself? They’re too heavy for you anyway. Cast them onto Jesus, because He cares for you.

I want to leave you with one final thought, the words to the well-known poem “Footprints”. I think it’s a beautiful picture of the role that Jesus plays in our lives as Christians. Enjoy… 

One night a man had a dream. He dreamed he was walking along the beach with the Lord. Across the sky flashed scenes from his life. For each scene, he noticed two sets of footprints in the sand: one belonging to him, and the other to the Lord.  When the last scene of his life flashed before him, he looked back at the footprints in the sand. He noticed that many times along the path of his life there was only one set of footprints. He also noticed that it happened at the very lowest and saddest times in his life. This really bothered him and he questioned the Lord about it.  “Lord, You said that once I decided to follow You, You’d walk with me all the way. But I have noticed that during the most troublesome times in my life, there is only one set of footprints.  I don’t understand why when I needed You most You would leave me.” The Lord replied, “My precious, precious child, I love you and would never leave you. During your times of trial and suffering, when you see only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.”

Pastor Chris

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

