On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand

Even though I didn’t grow up in the church, I love the old hymns. There’s a richness to the lyrics of these classic songs that you don’t always find in contemporary worship songs. (Don’t get me wrong – I love contemporary worship very much, and I’m generalizing here – there is a lot of good new stuff, too!). Some of my favourite old hymns are Amazing Grace, What a Friend we Have in Jesus, The Old Rugged Cross (my favourite!), and this one: On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand. I heard it on the radio yesterday, and wanted to share it with you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NM7vodGhOaE&feature=fvwrel

It’s not the best youtube video ever, but it’s one of the better recorded versions of the song on there, so enjoy!

  • My hope is built on nothing less
  • Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
  • I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
  • But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

Refrain: On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;

All other ground is sinking sand, All other ground is sinking sand.

  • When darkness veils His lovely face,
  • I rest on His unchanging grace;
  • In every high and stormy gale,
  • My anchor holds within the veil.

Refrain: On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;

All other ground is sinking sand, All other ground is sinking sand.

  • When He shall come with trumpet sound,
  • Oh, may I then in Him be found;
  • Dressed in His righteousness alone,
  • Faultless to stand before the throne.

Have an awesome, God-blessed day today!

– Pastor Chris

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. High School Bible Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand

Leave a Reply

