Peace in the Midst of Storms

Peace in the Midst of Storms

As a young Christian, I once heard a preacher say, “If you trust God, and pray hard enough, nothing bad will ever happen to you!” That sounded pretty good to me! And so, every day, I would faithfully pray prayers for protection, provision and blessing in my life.

However, one night, my wife Liza woke me up and we discovered that our house was flooded with water. Everything was ruined! I was having a crisis of faith – how could this have happened? Maybe I didn’t have enough faith. Or maybe, what I had been taught all along wasn’t right.

As much as I wish it was true, becoming a Christian isn’t like a ‘get-out-of-jail-free’ card that guarantees no more problems or troubles. In fact, Jesus Himself said, “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” So as long as we’re living life on planet earth, we will experience all kinds of trials. Trouble will come, but it doesn’t have to overcome you!

And although its true that sometimes He calms the storms, sometimes He chooses instead to calm His child, in the midst of the storm. But remember, when Jesus is in your boat, it doesn’t matter how big the storm is, we can always experience His peace.

Are you going through a storm in your life? Maybe your storm is financial struggles or relationship problems or health issues. Whatever your trouble is, go to Jesus, the Prince of Peace, and let Him give you His peace!

May this video encourage you today, if you find yourself in a storm…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3BMIJHZSavo

Pastor Chris Jordan

www.beausejourchurch.ca

About Chris Jordan

Husband. Father. Author. Pastor. Guidance Counsellor. High School Teacher. Follower of Jesus. And I enjoy a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

