Lord, I Need a PERSONAL Revival

Lord, I Need a PERSONAL Revival:

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from Your presence, And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Your salvation, And uphold me by Your generous Spirit. Then I will teach transgressors Your ways, And sinners shall be converted to You.” (Psalm 51:10-13).

Friend, it’s time for revival. For too long the church of Jesus Christ has just coasted along on cruise control, content to just get to Heaven, but that’s not gonna cut it any longer. I’m not content with where I’m at in my relationship with the Lord. I’m not content with where our churches are at, spiritually speaking. It’s time to get beyond the blessing mentality that hit the churches in the 80’s, that said, “My name’s Jimmy, so gimme gimme gimme.” It’s time to realize that God didn’t save us from hell just so we could be healthy, wealthy, successful and prosperous. If that’s all Christianity is about, then I’m walking away from it right now. God has bigger plans for us than that. It’s not about survival, it’s about revival. It’s not about preservation, it’s about transformation.

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” (Romans 12:2). God doesn’t want us to bury our heads in the sand while the world goes to hell in a hand basket, and just hang on until Jesus returns. God wants us to be set on fire with a fresh anointing of the Holy Spirit, and to confront the wickedness of our world with the power of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Our world needs a Holy Spirit revival. It will start within the heart of you and me, when we get sick and tired of the status quo, the average, the ordinary, and the mundane. God has created us to live supernatural lives, infused with the Holy Spirit’s power, to turn our world upside down (or right side up, whichever the case may be). Lord, let us never be the same again.

Are you in the same place that I’m in? Do you recognize your need for a personal revival? Do you recognize that there are parts of your heart that you haven’t totally surrendered to the Lordship of Jesus Christ? God has created us to do something great for Him – to serve His purposes in our generation, just like King David, Elijah, Daniel and Abraham did in their generations. “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily hinders our progress. And let us run with endurance the race that God has set before us.” (Hebrews 12:1).

God wants to use you to make a difference in your world. He wants to use me. If not us, then who? If not now, then when? It’s not the golden or silver vessels that God’s looking for, but willing vessels. Are you willing to pour out your life as a sacrifice for the Lord? Are you willing to do whatever it takes to bring glory to God in our generation? Then let’s pray this prayer together: Search me, O God, and know my heart, and see if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Give us new, steadfast and faithful hearts, Lord. Make us holy. Help us to live every day in your presence, for your glory, to see your Kingdom established in the Earth. Forgive us of our sins, our lukewarm-ness, and our compromise. Empower us to make a difference in our world for the sake of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, amen.

Pastor Chris Jordan

About Chris Jordan

I love coffee, Jesus, my wife and four children, preaching, teaching, writing and reading, though not necessarily all in that order.
This entry was posted in devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lord, I Need a PERSONAL Revival

  1. Well done brother. Clear and sharp. I hope to keep reading more.

    ybic, Bryan

Leave a Reply

